Avant Browser 10.1 alpha 1

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon May 23, 2005 10:30 am

wilson389 wrote:...it just give me a blank list(block actually)
Is it the list or the "block" (as in button?) If your button on the toolbar is blank, try one of the "skins" that come with Avant. It's probably the issue we're currently discussing about the needing a new skin factory. The re are new buttons that current skins don't have, which is leaving them blank.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Mon May 23, 2005 10:34 am

wilson389 wrote:Nice work! I like it! There is one issue though, my 're-open last closed' seems not working, it just give me a blank list(block actually)
Moreover, it seems that the loading time is a bit longer, would it be improved in the beta release?
Actually it's the same list as "Recently opened page"
So make sure that "Enable Recently Opened Page List." in Tools>Avant Browser Options...>Recently Opened Pages is checked
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

batagy
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 11:52 pm
Windows Version: WinXP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: IE8.0
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by batagy » Mon May 23, 2005 11:15 am

crom wrote:by the way, Anderson..any new translation items for us translators? ;)
Yeah, new items needs to be translated!

I really like these new features. Congratulations, Anderson. I like especially the new buttons, and the auto-scroll is very useful!

User avatar
wilson389
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:01 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Hong Kong, China

Post by wilson389 » Mon May 23, 2005 12:37 pm

Well, the icons are fine. What I mean is that the list shape like a block(smal and tiny).
I did forget to check the box for'recently opened pages. :oops:

User avatar
fuzzylogic
Fan
Fan
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

Post by fuzzylogic » Mon May 23, 2005 5:16 pm

This version is not very Windows 98 friendly. I installed it and shortly after the other programs I was running started performing 'illegal operations'. I then attempted to download the previous version and my machine locked up. I guess it's an alpha so things like this are to be expected.

PS I noticed the menus have gone back to wrapping (multiple columns when lots of items in the menu) instead of a single column even though the single column would fit on the screen. I much prefer the single column whenever possible.

User avatar
Weezle
Fan
Fan
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 9:56 pm
Windows Version: WinXP
Avant Version: 11.6
IE Version: IE 7
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Post by Weezle » Mon May 23, 2005 5:49 pm

Auto Scroll..???

Must have missed it somewhere. :?

webwilli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:21 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by webwilli » Mon May 23, 2005 5:50 pm

new version, but old "bug":

when i disable "open pop-up pages in foreground" pictures was not open correctly.

example: http://www.notebooksbilliger.de/product ... 9105_dvdrw

german page, whatever. when you click @the notebook pic. just a grey windows was displayed, no picture. i have this at many sites.

when the function is enabled, it works, but i won´t use the ""open pop-up pages in foreground" feature.

help ;)

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Mon May 23, 2005 7:06 pm

fuzzylogic wrote:PS I noticed the menus have gone back to wrapping (multiple columns when lots of items in the menu) instead of a single column even though the single column would fit on the screen. I much prefer the single column whenever possible.
Yes, I noticed that on the Favourites menu. I also prefer the single column method.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Mon May 23, 2005 7:08 pm

Weezle wrote:Auto Scroll..???

Must have missed it somewhere. :?
Look under View > Customize Buttons... its a new toolbar button.

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Mon May 23, 2005 8:34 pm

Check out autoscroll at anything zoomed greater than 100%. Whew, tough on the eyes.

duke duke
Dell 6000
XP Home SP2
Avant 10.2, latest build
IE updates
NOD32, the latest
Outpost Firewall Pro 3.5
Ad Muncher 4.7

User avatar
Darkson1
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:25 pm
Windows Version: XPsp3 and Vista Home
Avant Version: 11.7 b43
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: England - God's own country.

Post by Darkson1 » Mon May 23, 2005 9:07 pm

Pip wrote:Yeah, I Love it Anderson.............still would like to be able to open an individual group item in a new window without having to use the Shift key+
Another vote for that one, otherwise no issues here.
Ha, ha ha! Very funny!

Run for the hills, it's Darkson!

User avatar
Circumlocutus
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK

Post by Circumlocutus » Mon May 23, 2005 10:08 pm

Pip wrote:Yeah, I Love it Anderson.............still would like to be able to open an individual group item in a new window without having to use the Shift key+
Another vote for this, and could you allow "Recently Closed Pages" to open in a new window without pressing the shift key also please?
Image
WARNING

This post contains one or more words known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your eyes after reading.

charles22304
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:36 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: maryland
Contact:

Post by charles22304 » Tue May 24, 2005 3:57 am

Mr Big C it works well for me too! I can't thank you enough. Good day!

gary100856
Fan
Fan
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:50 pm
Avant Version:

Post by gary100856 » Tue May 24, 2005 8:46 am

A very nice upgrade

I like the bright red lettering on the tabs - I can easily see which is current

I like the new Options button although the name led me expect initially that it would lead to the Avant Browser Options rather than what is basically the Tools menu - perhaps renaming the button Tools would be more accurate. Then you might add an Options button that takes one directly to the Avant Browser Options.

don't know what I will ever use it for, but New Avant Browser is a nice response to so many people who wanted it.

Good work!


Addition:

I just noticed something that seems odd in the Avant Browser Options

If I choose the "Right Click Menu" all the options there are grayed out and I cannot change them - is this something in the program, or have I missed some setting somewhere else?

Further addition:

The note above was made while working on a machine at work - now on my machine at home, and the options for Right Click Menu are not grayed out. Odd
Last edited by gary100856 on Tue May 24, 2005 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Avant 10.1 build 17
XP pro, IE 6
Kerio Firewall

AzazelSP
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:07 pm
Avant Version:

Google Toolbar Compatibility

Post by AzazelSP » Tue May 24, 2005 11:50 am

Hi!!

The compatibility with de new beta version of Google Toolbar.

There is a plan to do that on the new version of AB?

Thanks!

gary100856
Fan
Fan
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:50 pm
Avant Version:

Post by gary100856 » Tue May 24, 2005 3:59 pm

Been thinking more about the new "options" button on the standard bar - which is basically an entrance to the Tools menu.

It is a nice idea but some of the individual items within it have their own buttons already (Flash, Ads, Pictures) Wouldn't it be more consisten to give every item in the Tools menu its own button on the Standard Bar?
Avant 10.1 build 17
XP pro, IE 6
Kerio Firewall

Mastertech
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:00 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Mastertech » Wed May 25, 2005 1:46 am

I also like the Bold Red in the tabs, it is very easy to see which one is current. Just add an option to customize it for those who do not. My argument for keeping it is simple, new users to Avant Browser will find it very helpful to know which tab they are on, power users may choose to disable it.

Also the cleaner larger buttons look better as well. Nice job!

Another suggestion for full screen mode. I've found myself stuck in it easily before I was ever used to Avant. Is it possible to have a visible button to get out of it as well? Also would it be possible to add Esc as a second way out besides F12, since this is the first thing new users try.

Thanks.
Optimize XP - A Windows XP Optimization Guide
Secure XP - A Windows XP Security Guide

jupTih
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 3:24 am
Avant Version:

Post by jupTih » Wed May 25, 2005 3:35 am

it be real awesome if you could choose how the favorites,
groups, language etc menus are displayed - horizontally
vs vertically. personally displaying the menus across the
screen peeves me off, but i mean, others may like it, so
the option to choose would be great

cheers

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Wed May 25, 2005 8:14 am

I would rather suggest Bold Blue than Red for the TAB
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

Defenestration
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:51 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Defenestration » Wed May 25, 2005 1:12 pm

FavIcons are not downloaded using proxy settings (if set up). They are always requested/downloaded using IE proxy settings.

Please can this be changed for AB 10.1 so that AB proxy setting is used to download FavIcons, instead of always using IE proxy settings.

This is a security vulnerability, although a workaround is to set up IE proxy settings, although this is not as convenient.

Locked