Avant Browser 10.1 alpha 1

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Avant Browser 10.1 alpha 1

Post by Anderson » Sun May 22, 2005 3:26 pm

Hi Everybody,

Here is Avant Browser 10.1 alpha 1:
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1459 ... /avant.exe

Change Log:
1. Allow Multiple Instances
2. Customizable Mouse Gestures
3. Improved Scroll
4. Customizable Tab to Active after close a tab
5. Customizable Mouse Buttons functions
6. More Customizable Standard Buttons.
7. Drop down button for history button, display top 90 visited web pages.

More Changes will be available in 10.1 beta 1.

Thanks,

Anderson

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Great

Post by abfan123 » Sun May 22, 2005 3:51 pm

Great :-)

But I seem to can't find an option for multiple instances

Am I missed something :?

EDIT
Actually I found it :-)
But if the tray icon is enabled then will be 2 icons there
I suggest to always make 1 icon and remove the splash screen for second instance
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
jkdclick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:23 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Great

Post by jkdclick » Sun May 22, 2005 4:09 pm

abfan123 wrote:Great :-)

But I seem to can't find an option for multiple instances

Am I missed something :?

EDIT
Actually I found it :-)
But if the tray icon is enabled then will be 2 icons there
I suggest to always make 1 icon and remove the splash screen for second instance
Where is it ABfan?
J. Dickinson - Team TORDEX - http://www.tordex.com
__________
Dell Windows XP MCE SP2
Intel Pentium D, 3.00 GHz, 3 GB Ram
Avant - The Latest, IE 7, Firefox - The Latest

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Great

Post by abfan123 » Sun May 22, 2005 4:11 pm

jkdclick wrote:
abfan123 wrote:Great :-)

But I seem to can't find an option for multiple instances

Am I missed something :?

EDIT
Actually I found it :-)
But if the tray icon is enabled then will be 2 icons there
I suggest to always make 1 icon and remove the splash screen for second instance
Where is it ABfan?
File>New Avant Browser (Almost last item)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Sun May 22, 2005 4:55 pm

Excellent changes Anderson, thanks.

Just one thing:
When I click on the new "Re-open Last Closed" button (green arrow) it displays the "Recently opened pages " list.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sun May 22, 2005 5:12 pm

ABman wrote: When I click on the new "Re-open Last Closed" button (green arrow) it displays the "Recently opened pages " list.
Same here

But I think it's the same thing
What's the difference between recently opened and recently closed pages?

BTW
About my previous suggestion,Don't remove the tray icon from other windows (I haven't thought about the minimize to tray bar option :oops: )
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Sun May 22, 2005 5:22 pm

abfan123 wrote:
ABman wrote: When I click on the new "Re-open Last Closed" button (green arrow) it displays the "Recently opened pages " list.
Same here

But I think it's the same thing
What's the difference between recently opened and recently closed pages?

BTW
About my previous suggestion,Don't remove the tray icon from other windows (I haven't thought about the minimize to tray bar option :oops: )
When you hover the cursor over the button it says "Re-open Last Closed" so I expected it just to re-open the last closed tab. I thought this would be used in the case where you accidently close a tab; which would be useful rather than go through the recently opened route.

Except that I've just noticed that the green arrow is used there as well so I guess it's not a new thing after all.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun May 22, 2005 5:33 pm

Nice job, Anderson. This build adds a lot of requested items.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sun May 22, 2005 8:06 pm

Very nice work Anderson. :D

I'm not to crazy about the red text on the tab though. Its too distracting, I'd rather the blue like before. Perhaps try red just when you put the mouse on it?

Also, can the print preview button be a sub menu option of the print button instead of an entirely new button? Like how you did the full screen, full desktop button.

Thanks Anderson
=D> =D> =D>

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Sun May 22, 2005 8:14 pm

bigC wrote:Very nice work Anderson. :D

I'm not to crazy about the red text on the tab though. Its too distracting, I'd rather the blue like before. Perhaps try red just when you put the mouse on it?
I like the red, perhaps not bold.

Mouse over defeats the object of easily and quickly seeing the current tab.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sun May 22, 2005 8:16 pm

Hmm
Why not make it customizable?(Maybe even in Avant Browser Skin Factory?)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sun May 22, 2005 8:21 pm

We're going to need a new skin Factory--I have lots of blanks in my current skin and I really don't want to use the default one!

Otherwise---amazing, Anderson!

Sara :D

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Sun May 22, 2005 8:34 pm

Yeah, I Love it Anderson.............still would like to be able to open an individual group item in a new window without having to use the Shift key+

And I don't mind the "Red" color for the current tab. I do agree that being able to customize it through the Skin Factory would be good.
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sun May 22, 2005 8:53 pm

Sara wrote:We're going to need a new skin Factory--I have lots of blanks in my current skin and I really don't want to use the default one!

Otherwise---amazing, Anderson!

Sara :D
But even if we get a new skin factory, it would be good if you could make the skins backward compatible. So the default icon will show instead of a blank spot for any new button. Like you did with the changeover to 10 from 9.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon May 23, 2005 12:49 am

bigC wrote:But even if we get a new skin factory, it would be good if you could make the skins backward compatible. So the default icon will show instead of a blank spot for any new button. Like you did with the changeover to 10 from 9.
I wholeheartedly agree.

Great work on 10.1. Everything looks clean and organized, too.

User avatar
jkdclick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:23 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by jkdclick » Mon May 23, 2005 1:47 am

Sara wrote:We're going to need a new skin Factory--I have lots of blanks in my current skin and I really don't want to use the default one!

Otherwise---amazing, Anderson!

Sara :D
Yes Sara, you're right. I use dark skins. The skin is ok as a whole but I can't read the text on the tabs. All I can see is the red text. Anybody else have this problem with dark skins?

I'm also posting this in the bug section. jkdclick
J. Dickinson - Team TORDEX - http://www.tordex.com
__________
Dell Windows XP MCE SP2
Intel Pentium D, 3.00 GHz, 3 GB Ram
Avant - The Latest, IE 7, Firefox - The Latest

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Mon May 23, 2005 4:06 am

It all seems to be working well. I too find the red of the active tab too strong. I think a darker red could look nicer, and maybe not in bold.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Mon May 23, 2005 7:42 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Great work on 10.1. Everything looks clean and organized, too.
Image
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Mon May 23, 2005 7:59 am

by the way, Anderson..any new translation items for us translators? ;)
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
wilson389
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:01 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Hong Kong, China

Post by wilson389 » Mon May 23, 2005 10:26 am

Nice work! I like it! There is one issue though, my 're-open last closed' seems not working, it just give me a blank list(block actually)
Moreover, it seems that the loading time is a bit longer, would it be improved in the beta release?

Locked