Not so light on memory!!

Discuss Avant Browser. Do not post support requests, bug reports, suggestions for new or improved features, etc. here. Put those in the Help, Bug Reports, and Requests forums, respectively.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
marinecomm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:41 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: Ult 2012 Build 188
IE Version: IE 9

Not so light on memory!!

Post by marinecomm » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:48 am

I noted over 10 processes at one time by avant and three of them used over 200 MB of memory. What gives?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by xiaobing » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:51 am

How many pages had you opened at that time? Did the pages contain videos?

marinecomm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:41 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: Ult 2012 Build 188
IE Version: IE 9

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by marinecomm » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:57 am

I only had three or four pages open and none of them contained videos. I will see if I can reproduce the same results

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by xiaobing » Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:20 am

Please also notice whether the ybrowser.exe exit automatically when you close Avant browser.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:58 am

I have been complaining about this issue for years. Some ybrowser.exe remain even after AB is closed. I have to remove them manually.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:11 am

Hello pkchu520 you say I have been complaining about this issue for years. Some ybrowser.exe remain even after AB is closed. I have to remove them manually. I Also have been complaining about ybrowser in the earlier days in short i was told it was needed to make avant work never got any further than that. :)

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:16 am

AXEMAN:

Currently I am using Ultimate 2012 built 197. I have 5 tab (one is playing Youtube), and I notice there are 18 ybrowser.exe *32 in Processes.

I also notice that Avant Browser is not shown in Applications. Do you have the same problem?

It looks like Anderson has no solution for this problem (or he would have it fixed long ago). That's too bad.

Avant Browser Ultimate 2012 build 197
Default rendering engine: IE9 Compatible
Skin: Aero Glass
IE version: 9
Windows version: 7 Home Premium
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by mbrazil » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:17 am

Are you set on the IE engine? Memory usage is somewhat better using the Firefox engine.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11317
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:06 am

Firefox is my default engine. I just opened the browser, did a Google search, opened one of my own websites in another tab, and opened this forum in a third. I've check two other threads in the same tab. My Firefox process is at 433,000K. I've noticed my memory usage has been up since 2013, but have also noticed Thunderbird is hogging more as versions go on. Fortunately, I can shut down every once in awhile without it really interrupting what I'm doing. I'd hate to be someone with 4GB or less in my system at this rate.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by mbrazil » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:49 am

mr.h, instead of shutting down Avant to reclaim the memory the firefox engine is using, just terminate firefox.exe in Task Manager. I have a batch file set up to do this with a single click (see below), and I keep a shortcut to the batch file on my desktop where I can always get to it.

The batch file contains one line: TASKKILL /F /IM FIREFOX.EXE

This reclaims just as much memory as restarting Avant. You can then refresh all the tabs you had open with Refresh All or just refresh the ones you need right away. By refreshing only some of the tabs, you save more memory but keep the tab buttons in the tab bar to make it easier to reopen the sites for individual tabs when you need them.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:46 pm

The batch file doesn't work.

Stilll ybrowser.exe doesn't shut down automatically after AB shuts down.

Anderson, are you at the end of the rope? Do you want people to leave you and go to other browsers which have far less problems than AB?
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by MysteryFCM » Sat Jul 18, 2015 2:41 pm

For the latest version of Avant, you need to change "FIREFOX.exe" to the new (appropriate) filenames (e.g. "gecko.exe", "xbrowser.exe", "ybrowser.exe", "zbrowser.exe" etc).

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 am

I can't use FF or Chrome engines because my RoboForm only works in IE engine. That is too bad as AB once boosted it was the faster brower with the lightest memory usage.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Sat Jul 23, 2016 1:59 pm

I now have 2016 build 5 and still having the memory issue. Is that any update to the batch file that can reduce my CPU usdage?

I have 8G Ram and when I am not using AB, my CPU usday is about 30%. With AB on, it shoots up to 90%. Then I have problems like AB freezes and displays the BSOD.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11317
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:40 pm

To be clear, pkchu520, in all of your posts in this thread, you've never said anything about the memory usage you're experiencing. You mention RAM in your post above, but everything else is about processor usage.

The more data from people the better.

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by pkchu520 » Sat Jul 23, 2016 6:32 pm

I alwayhs mentioned AB's memory usage is high and it is a fact people know about. In my other posts, I mention my AB crashes ofent too. Do you have any idea or recommendations? Thanks.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:48 pm

You should disable all IE-plugins and Avant browser add-ons under Menu--> options--> Add-ons and see whether your cpu usage still reaches 90%. If not, enable them 1 by 1 to find which one is causing the problem.

Btw, are you still using that Cristal skin? i noticed Avant works much better and faster with the new skins (above the dotted line)

And how much memory does Avant use? you don't mention that. since you have 8 GB i doubt it the memory use will be a problem.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11317
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Not so light on memory!!

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:01 am

pkchu520 wrote:I alwayhs mentioned AB's memory usage is high and it is a fact people know about. In my other posts, I mention my AB crashes ofent too. Do you have any idea or recommendations? Thanks.
I don't know about other threads, but you haven't 'always' mentioned it here. Like I said, you haven't mentioned it once. You told us how much RAM you have, but that's the only mention of memory you've made.

I was just trying to make sure everyone is on the same page here and your posts didn't seem to be on topic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users