New site and avant browser page on facebook

Discuss Avant Browser. Do not post support requests, bug reports, suggestions for new or improved features, etc. here. Put those in the Help, Bug Reports, and Requests forums, respectively.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Jasmine » Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:02 am

Hello all,

The website of Avant Browser is going to be replaced with a new one :D :
http://test.avantbrowser.com:30000/default.aspx?uil=en

How do you like it?

At the bottom there will be a button linked to facebook, maybe you could show your support to Avant Browser by donating a click on "Like" button :wink: :
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Avant-Bro ... 8267350589

It's only a fan page for the moment, once we reach to 30 Fans, we can call it the official page :!:
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by AXEMAN » Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:22 am

Hello Jasmine the forum will remain where it is now :?: :?: :?:

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Jasmine » Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:35 am

Unfortunately, the forum will keep unchanged. Short of hands.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by bigC » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:39 pm

Better then the current site but the support page is a bit dated. It could also use a few screenshots of AB somewhere.

Looking good

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Jasmine » Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:48 am

New website is there, support Avant Browser on facebook by clicking "Like" it :lol: .
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:24 pm

how about fixing the bugs before creating a new website?
just my 2 cents...
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by AbelAbel » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:49 am

I like the new home page, yea, better than the old one.
@Kand.in.Sky. I think their developer is dealing with the bugs. :wink: As to the home page, they just change the style. This doesn't take much time.

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:53 am

@AbelAbel
excuse me beeing impertinent - but the amount of bugs i discovered durng a few days and the all-over-bad design, which makes impossibles to use some add-ons (http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=31592), the very high usage of memory, bad link-calling from ext. programs etc etc.. makes me doubt about working on bugs. AVANT 2012 is nothing more than beta status, maybe even less.
Remember the first builds did even not work on gecko engine (http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 18&t=30398) and this bug was denied in the first replys...

and f.e. "open all links on this page" wer'e waiting since the very first days of a gecko browser ORCA and i don't belive it will be ever implemented. i got the answer, it is possible when using the ie-engine (http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=31582). But, if you using the ie-engine the old avant (10.2, bld 52) is much faster and better, for gecko is ORCA the first choice. even it is the old engine.

now imagine an updated ORCA..! WOW!


i really want to use AVANT 2012 - but it is simply impossible and i see no advances comp to the old AVANT and ORCA.
and after installing 'controle de scripts' and 'configuration mania' ORCA is faster than AVANT 2012 ever will be.
and i can use most all add-ons.

try something
open ORCA and AVANT 2012 with about 50+ tabs, check the time and check the memory usage after a few minutes...
just for now AVANT 2012 uses about >100MB (92MB FF + 9MB avant, 1 tab open, googlenews), ORCA uses about 140MB - with 60+ tabs open and playing flash radio in the background. AVANT 2012 was running about 5 min, ORCA since hours.

and for now i discovered ANOTHER BUG! When exiting AVANT 2012 then chrome.exe started. but if you have already the real chrome browser running this results in a crash ("chrome.exe crashes, do you want to restart?")


really, where's the progress..?


sorry, didn't want to write a rant though


regards,
#k.
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by AXEMAN » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:45 am

hello if you want to use IE well in your words ie-engine try IE LITE since there is no web kit the download is alot smaller in the amount of data downloaded and is much faster. :)

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:59 am

@AXEMAN

thanks.
I am happy with Avant 10.2 build 52, which was the last stable and fast one before the new code design. I highly recommend this version for users who wants to use the ie-engine. much better and faster and less memory usage than AVANT 2012.
I am also happy with ORCA, maybe i can figure out how to update this to the new gecko engine.... if not then it does no matter, there is still K-MELON as alternative for a lean, small and fast browser.
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:21 am

and this is AVANT 2012 in IE mode running

- 1x avant.exe
- 12x ybrowser.exe
- consuming about 500MB all together
- flash and JS is off

same time ORCA 1.2 Build 6
- one instance
- 151MB
- flash off, JS on


did i ask already where the advances are?
avanttaskmanagerUnbenannt.PNG
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:28 pm

and now for compare Avant 10.2 build 52, IE only
avanttaskmanager2Unbenannt.PNG
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

Kand.in.Sky
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
Location: CGN / DE

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Kand.in.Sky » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:01 pm

about memory usage in the IE-lite version
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 23#p186422
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Tinman57 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:42 pm

Kand.in.Sky wrote:and this is AVANT 2012 in IE mode running

- 1x avant.exe
- 12x ybrowser.exe
- consuming about 500MB all together
- flash and JS is off

same time ORCA 1.2 Build 6
- one instance
- 151MB
- flash off, JS on


did i ask already where the advances are?
avanttaskmanagerUnbenannt.PNG
Just out of curiosity, how many tabs did you have open at the time?
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: New site and avant browser page on facebook

Post by Jasmine » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:21 am

Kand.in.Sky wrote:about memory usage in the IE-lite version
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 23#p186422
This issue should have been fixed in avant 2012 build 180. It's due to some processes didn't exit last time closing avant browser so that they persisted in the task manager. Seems your problem is different. The numbber of ybrowser.exe created depends on how many pages you have opened. Normally, one ybrowser.exe contains 5 pages, closing 4 pages contained in a certain ybrowser.exe can't make this process end unless you close all 5 pages residing in it.
Kand.in.Sky wrote:@AbelAbel
try something
open ORCA and AVANT 2012 with about 50+ tabs, check the time and check the memory usage after a few minutes...
just for now AVANT 2012 uses about >100MB (92MB FF + 9MB avant, 1 tab open, googlenews), ORCA uses about 140MB - with 60+ tabs open and playing flash radio in the background. AVANT 2012 was running about 5 min, ORCA since hours.

and for now i discovered ANOTHER BUG! When exiting AVANT 2012 then chrome.exe started. but if you have already the real chrome browser running this results in a crash ("chrome.exe crashes, do you want to restart?")
The comparison between firefox engine of avant 12 and orca 1.2.6 is to a large extent a comparison between firefox 3 and firefox 14 engine. The memory usage firefox.exe of avant 12 and orca.exe of orca 1.2.6 is mostly decided by the core gecko.

10.2, bld 52 can't prevent the memory leak issue. New avant 2012 is a multi-process program designed for eliminating the continuous increasing memory usage which can't release unless the browser gets closed. Closing some pages now and then can make some ybrowser.exe exit and release the memory taken without closing the browser itself.

Chrome.exe are called for performing the task of removing history. Unchecking the options under Tools>avant browser options>exiting: always erase the following item(s) when exiting won't make them appear during exiting avant browser.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply