Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Discuss Avant Browser. Do not post support requests, bug reports, suggestions for new or improved features, etc. here. Put those in the Help, Bug Reports, and Requests forums, respectively.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by ftboomer » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:50 pm

So I installed the new Chrome add-on and then went into Preferences -> Add-on's and activated it. Not sure if it's working but Avant still seems to work. Need to try and get a single tab to fail and see if the whole browser fails or not.

http://www.geek.com/articles/news/googl ... -20090922/
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by ftboomer » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:57 pm

OH Well, Seems as though the acid test fails: Any suggestions?

http://acid3.acidtests.org/
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by kudos » Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:04 pm

IE7 vs IE8 mode?

BTW - what's the result with IE?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by ftboomer » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:09 pm

kudos wrote:IE7 vs IE8 mode?

BTW - what's the result with IE?

Don't understand why you listed the IE7\IE8 Add-on. I'm on Win 7 and could not get it to work in Avant or IE8
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by bigC » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:02 pm

ftboomer wrote:OH Well, Seems as though the acid test fails: Any suggestions?

http://acid3.acidtests.org/
Well, according to the article you posted, I think web developers have to add a tag to their pages in order to render them with the chrome frame.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by kudos » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:47 pm

You can force Chrome mode by prefixing the URL with cf: ie cf:http://www.google.com
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by bigC » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:17 pm

kudos wrote:You can force Chrome mode by prefixing the URL with cf: ie cf:http://www.google.com
There you go, so try that with the acid test url ftboomer & see if it passes...

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by ftboomer » Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:38 am

Pages don't even load. Opens a blank tab
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

ajri02
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:42 am
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 1.0
IE Version: 7.0

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by ajri02 » Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:00 am

kudos wrote:
BTW - what's the result with IE?

I see IE7 often got network problem than FireFox

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Running Google Chrome Add-on

Post by statm1 » Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:16 pm

Yea I wasn't able to get Chrome Frame to work in Avant. But I was able to get it to work in IE6. It was funny to see IE6 get a near perfect score on the ACID3 test.
Image
-- Matt --

Post Reply