Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 3:29 pm
Posts: 1
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.5.21
IE Version: 7.0.6
I just started recently using Windows Vista, and I hate Vista and I hate IE7. In seventeen years, since the launch of Windows 95, this is the first time I've ever hated Microsoft products.

I've just learned about Avant Browser yesterday. I've been using it for a few hours. I like how I can make Avant Browser look like IE6; but it doesn't quite act like IE6.

I’ve tried to search this forum for information on removing the tab feature.



1.) I HATE TABS

How do I turn off tabbed browsing completely?

I don't ever want to see the "Windows Tabs" toolbar ever again. It's visual clutter in the browser window.

I prefer to have several browser windows open at the same time, each with its own button on the Windows taskbar. Furthermore, I prefer to arrange these buttons between taskbar buttons for programs like Word and Photoshop, content arranged in order with similar content, with every piece of content always within eyesight, and always within immediate reach of the mouse pointer, on the Windows taskbar.

I right-click on a link and choose the "Open in New Window" command. Opens a new tab. I don't want this. I want buttons on the Windows Taskbar. Ok, there's the "Open in New Avant Browser" command. Now I have what I want. But this right-click context menu is too cluttered. I always want this menu to be easier to use, for my elderly parents, who know how to websurf just perfectly in IE6. How do I remove some of these commands? Is there a way I can make "Open in New Window" do what "Open in New Avant Browser" does?

Most annoyingly, if I click on a pop-up link (not sure I'm using the right term here), such as a game in Shockwave or a link in a Hotmail message, I want that link to automatically open in a new browser window, with a corresponding button on the Windows taskbar. IE6 does this. But Avant Browser, instead, opens these links into new tabs. How do I make these links open into new windows?



2.) AVANT DOES NOT LAUNCH LIKE IE6

I could click on IE6's Quick Launch icon (or double-click the desktop icon) three times if I wanted three open browser windows, each with a corresponding button on the Windows taskbar.

Doesn't matter if I use Avant Browser's icon in the Quick Launch bar, or the desktop icon, or its listing in the Programs group: if an Avant Browser window is already open, then it just pops back into view. One single taskbar button, always.

How do I make Avant Browser launch like IE?



3.) WHERE'S THE "FILE...OPEN" COMMAND?

When I select Avant Browser's "File...Open a Link" menu command, and type in a URL, it places that URL into the Address box, which remains there (until all browsing history is cleared). This is a major distraction. Mozilla Firefox does the same thing, and that’s one reason why I’m not using Mozilla Firefox.

In IE, I use the "File...Open" menu command, type in the URL, and the only record that remains is within IE's history folder. I only use the Address box for those websites I visit every single day, and I enter those websites by typing directly into the Address box. I prefer to use IE's "File...Open" command when I'm not certain I'll need to make note of a URL. This also makes web-browsing a much tidier experience.

Why doesn't Avant Browser's "File...Open a Link" menu command act like IE's "File...Open" menu command?



4.) PROGRESS BAR?

IE's status bar is very useful, showing a progress bar that gives an indication of how much web content remains to be downloaded...or if the website is stuck “hanging” (so I can click the “Stop” button followed by the “Refresh” button, and thus see if the Internet has just suffered a “temporary glitch” or if the website in question is truly down for the count).

Why isn’t there such a progress bar in Avant Browser’s status bar?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:48 pm
Posts: 599
Location: California, USA
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro - up to date
Avant Version: 11.7 B23
IE Version: I.E. 7
Hi there,
1. I'm not sure there is a way to disable tabbed browsing. But to disable the tab toolbar, right-click it, go to Toolbars, and uncheck "Window Tabs". I don't recommend doing this though, because then it's harder to switch tabs.
2. I'm don't think there's a way to launch new browsers via the Quick Launch. But you can open a new browser by going to File > New Avant Browser, or right-clicking the taskbar button (in the bottom right corner of the screen), and clicking "New Avant Browser".
3. You can delete links in the address bar menu. Just right-click them, and click "delete".
4. Avant's progress bar (since V. 11) is in the address bar.
Hope this helps. If I'm wrong on any of this, somebody please correct me.

_________________
Intel Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, Intel Pentium 4 Duo-core 3 GHz
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Home, Pro - Service Pack 3
Avant Browser 11.7 Build 23
Internet Explorer 7
AVG Antivirus Free Edition 8.0
Windows Firewall


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:12 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 11081
Location: Ohio, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2014
Default engine: Firefox / Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
I'll quote Noyb's post so that most of the answers will be in one place.
Noyb wrote:
1. I'm not sure there is a way to disable tabbed browsing. But to disable the tab toolbar, right-click it, go to Toolbars, and uncheck "Window Tabs". I don't recommend doing this though, because then it's harder to switch tabs.
Avant is a tabbed browser. You can not turn off tabs.
Noyb wrote:
2. I'm don't think there's a way to launch new browsers via the Quick Launch. But you can open a new browser by going to File > New Avant Browser, or right-clicking the taskbar button (in the bottom right corner of the screen), and clicking "New Avant Browser".
You can create a shortcut with this in its Target line: "I:\Program Files\Avant Browser\avant.exe" -runextra. But that still won't stop page generated popups from opening a new tab in Avant.
Noyb wrote:
4. Avant's progress bar (since V. 11) is in the address bar.
...on the tab you're currently on. On other opened tabs, it's in the tab itself.

Maybe someone can recommend some good IE-based, non-tabbed browsers, but if you're resolute about not wanting a tabbed browser, then I'd say Avant is not the browser for you.

Since this lists multiple topics in one thread, I'm going to move it outside of Help and to Discussion so that we can keep it open.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
Modeste N. wrote:
... 1.) I HATE TABS
How do I turn off tabbed browsing completely? ...
Congratulations, you're the first person I've ever met who doesn't like tabbed browsing!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Semi-Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 2168
Location: North Carolina, USA
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Well when the concept of tabs first came out I knew a few that didn't see the point in tabs. But they came around eventually. Mostly because IE6 got uninstalled.

_________________
Image
-- Matt --


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:00 am 
Offline
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Posts: 1939
Location: California, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
wasn't one of the main points for Avant Browser to have tabs?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:46 am 
Offline
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:48 pm
Posts: 599
Location: California, USA
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro - up to date
Avant Version: 11.7 B23
IE Version: I.E. 7
addonsfan wrote:
wasn't one of the main points for Avant Browser to have tabs?

Yes

_________________
Intel Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, Intel Pentium 4 Duo-core 3 GHz
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Home, Pro - Service Pack 3
Avant Browser 11.7 Build 23
Internet Explorer 7
AVG Antivirus Free Edition 8.0
Windows Firewall


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Semi-Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Posts: 2168
Location: North Carolina, USA
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
That is 99% of the reason why I hate IE6 no tabs. I can't stand having tons of windows open cluttering up things. Tabs make the internet much more organized.

_________________
Image
-- Matt --


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:28 pm 
Offline
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Posts: 303
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001
Why would you need to use Avant browser if you didnt like tabs? Tabs are Avants bread and butter. Is multi-tasking a sin? Or maybe you're habits are so old you can't adjust to better ways of doing things.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #9 on: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:09 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Posts: 6241
Location: Butler, PA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 Build 6 Lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
I'm beginning to think the OP was engaged in a bit of leg pulling...

Sara :?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:27 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Posts: 644
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Seeing that the originating post is now over two weeks old, and that it contains the members only post, I am locking this thread as the flamebait that is has become.

_________________
Image
WARNING

This post contains one or more words known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your eyes after reading.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group