Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:25 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Sat Jun 16, 2012 10:58 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
There's a small, free utility program called Firemin that keeps track of Firefox's memory usage and manages it to reduce its memory consumption. It's a separate program, not an extension or plug-in. The amazing thing is how well it works. It's adjustable so that you can choose a level where it doesn't use too much CPU resources and still keeps Firefox from gobbling up so much memory. I found it to be very effective on my system even with a fairly low setting. The slider control in Firemin goes from 100 to 1000. I've got it set to 280, and it reduced the amount of memory Firefox was tying up with around 20 open tabs from over 800 MB down to an average of about 15 MB with no apparent effect on system or browsing performance. Firemin itself is using only 1% or less of the CPU and very little memory.

It has no installer, so you'll have to place it in a folder of your choice, set it up to run at boot, and point it to the firefox.exe file, which is a setting in the Firemin Options window. It's very easy to use. The only controls are the slider, the setting to tell it where firefox.exe is, and three radio buttons to choose from that determine whether starting Firemin automatically starts Firefox. For Avant Ultimate, choose Don't launch Firefox when Firemin starts.

This program doesn't have an installer, so if you want it to run every time you boot your computer, you'll have to place it in a folder of your choice and set it up to start automatically.

You can download Firemin at http://www.datum-forensics.com/2012/05/firemin/.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:20 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Posts: 834
Location: TEXAS
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
There are a few small, free memory managers out there that will do the same thing, but with ANY program. You can tell it what program to throttle and how much to throttle it, plus how much cache it can use and some other bells and whistles.

_________________
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:38 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Tinman57 wrote:
There are a few small, free memory managers out there that will do the same thing, but with ANY program. You can tell it what program to throttle and how much to throttle it, plus how much cache it can use and some other bells and whistles.


I've tried several others of the type you mention, but none of them was effective with Firefox. I run CleanMem all the time, and it does a pretty good job with everything except Firefox.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:30 am 
Offline
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Posts: 1606
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9
Good find mbrazil :thumbup:


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:10 am 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Posts: 834
Location: TEXAS
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
mbrazil wrote:
Tinman57 wrote:
There are a few small, free memory managers out there that will do the same thing, but with ANY program. You can tell it what program to throttle and how much to throttle it, plus how much cache it can use and some other bells and whistles.


I've tried several others of the type you mention, but none of them was effective with Firefox. I run CleanMem all the time, and it does a pretty good job with everything except Firefox.


I've used a few of them over the years including CleanMem, but I can't remember which one I liked the most. I've slept since then. ;) Ever since I went to MemTurbo (paid) I haven't used the other ones. However, Memturbo was bought out by Sammsoft, and even though they still sell it, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone because they have absolutely NO TECHNICAL SUPPORT. I recently had a problem with it not loading it's preferences and Sammsoft sent me an email telling me to call their tech support. I called and was told that they couldn't help me unless I "Paid" for it. Sooooo, STAY AWAY FROM MEMTURBO4 or any other version of it for that fact..... :thumbdown:

_________________
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:17 pm 
Offline
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Posts: 374
Windows Version: Xp Pro Sp3 32-bit
Avant Version: 2014 Ultimate 5
Default engine: Firefox Rendering
IE Version: 7 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins
When i saw this the first time , i tho that finally i would go have the low memory usage that firefox 3.6.28 has :D but using firefox 13 , but unfortunately after some tests , it is the same thing.

Thanks to mbrazil anyway , this may have worked but.. maybe we can find something else or the firefox guys can "fix" it .

The only thing that loose mbs is the firefox.exe but the total amount of memory used in the pc is the same ,
example , firefox.exe with 200mbs goes to 2 or 3 mbs but the total memory is the same , looks like is just a illusion , because what is good is less total memory usage tho .

Test i did with the same pages:
+ is with firemin ON
The first number is the total memory used in the pc.
The second number is is the same but after close all pages except 1 and go to google.com

FF 13+ .. 721 > 368
FF 13 ... 716 > 362
FF 3+ ... 360 > 369
FF 3 .... 355 > 328

The other day with FF 13 , the total memory was 1650mbs , closed all pages except 1 and went to google.com , after this the memory was around 1300mbs , very weird something is not ok with FF 13 and FF after 4 version , it doesnt release the memory .

Anyone know of some (1 , 2 or 3 or 5) heavy pages that use alot memory ? If yes post it , thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
@ Crazy_John:

That's odd, because on my system, the total amount of memory in use is reduced by approximately the same amount that firefox.exe's memory usage is reduced when using Firemin. Prior to using Firemin, firefox.exe was using around 800 MB with around 20 open tabs, and with Firemin, it's using around 15 MB. At the same time, total memory consumption under the same circumstances dropped from a bit under 2 GB to right around 1 GB.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:39 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Posts: 834
Location: TEXAS
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
That's one of the biggest reasons I left Firefox years ago, couldn't put up with the memory leaks. Way back then I only had 512 mb of RAM, and Firefox was eating it all away with only one page opened. Then I went to Maxtore (SP?) front end for IE6 until I found Avant Browser, and the rest is history.... lol
You would think that after all these years that Firefox would have worked out the memory leaks.

_________________
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:03 pm 
Offline
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Posts: 374
Windows Version: Xp Pro Sp3 32-bit
Avant Version: 2014 Ultimate 5
Default engine: Firefox Rendering
IE Version: 7 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins
Yes theres something wrong with the new FF versions compared to FF 3 , but i still use FF 13 and specially Avant FF 13 many times :D , when the memory is too high what i do is close it and go again :D
but i also use FF 3.6.28 many times when i need alot of tabs .

I think google chrome has this problem too but ... , its very fast but after some pages . . . . where is the memory..
About release the memory , i dont know , need do some tests.

mbrazil wrote:
@ Crazy_John:

That's odd, because on my system, the total amount of memory in use is reduced by approximately the same amount that firefox.exe's memory usage is reduced when using Firemin. Prior to using Firemin, firefox.exe was using around 800 MB with around 20 open tabs, and with Firemin, it's using around 15 MB. At the same time, total memory consumption under the same circumstances dropped from a bit under 2 GB to right around 1 GB.


You are with Xp Pro Sp3 or with W7 ?

Im with Xp Pro Sp3 , but tried today in other new Xp Pro Sp2 installation that i have in other HD but the total memory is the same also.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #9 on: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:13 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Crazy_John wrote:
You are with Xp Pro Sp3 or with W7 ?

Im with Xp Pro Sp3 , but tried today in other new Xp Pro Sp2 installation that i have in other HD but the total memory is the same also.


XP Pro SP3. I had 36 tabs open earlier today (34 Firefox and 2 IE8), and the total memory consumption for Avant, firefox.exe, plugin-container.exe, and ybrowser.exe was approximately 500 MB with Firemin running. I don't have any idea why I'm seeing this much improvement and you're not.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:22 pm 
Offline
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Posts: 374
Windows Version: Xp Pro Sp3 32-bit
Avant Version: 2014 Ultimate 5
Default engine: Firefox Rendering
IE Version: 7 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins
Yes , its weird , i tried in other almost new Xp installation just to make sure that all the Services needed are right , but its the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #11 on: Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:06 am 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Posts: 834
Location: TEXAS
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Firefox 15 Beta Tackles Memory Leaks
Next version will improve memory management for users of add-ons
and support Opus audio, developers say.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/259646/firefox_15_beta_tackles_memory_leaks.html

_________________
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #12 on: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:06 am 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Posts: 1965
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
It's about time!

It sounds like they may have fixed what's causing some or maybe all the firefox crashes we've been experiencing in Avant too! I sure hope it turns out that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #13 on: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:12 am 
Offline
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Posts: 1606
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9
mbrazil wrote:
It's about time!

It sounds like they may have fixed what's causing some or maybe all the firefox crashes we've been experiencing in Avant too! I sure hope it turns out that way.

Ya i really hope so to bro :thumbup:


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #14 on: Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:50 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 82
Location: CGN / DE
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
mbrazil, you are my hero!

thank for the tip, now i can migrate fully from ORCA to the new AVANT.

ORCA uses about 300MB with 30+ tabs, AVANT/FF about 1600MB. None tips and tweaks could help.
After using Firemin now its about only 1/10 of it.


greetings
#k.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #15 on: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:08 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 82
Location: CGN / DE
Windows Version: XP SP3 (incl. all Updates)
Avant Version: PaleMoon 21+ (always latest)
Default engine: Mozilla
IE Version: 8 (latest for XP)
Skin: Qute 3++ (for PaleMoon)
unfortunately i do not mirgate
AVANT 2012 is a **** of bugs.
firemin works very well though it does not help that gecko/ff is getting slower and slower with the time, so you have to restart anyway.
and even with the ie-engine it is the same, high usage of memory and cpu.

so i will go back to ORCA 1.2 and AVANT 10.2.

if you're interested in memory usage and some bugs read my postings here.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=31588



regards,
#k.

_________________
"In zweifelhaften Faellen entscheide man sich fuer das Richtige." (K.Kraus) /
Support your local anti-geek team!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group