Web pages say I'm using I.E. 7

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Web pages say I'm using I.E. 7

Post by Sara » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:25 pm

I had this happen occasionally when I was using I.E.' 10, but since I upgraded to 11 in preparation to trying Windows 10 [-o< , it's more frequent. I get a notice saying my Web browser is outdated and to please update. My bank at least had the courtesy to show me that they saw me at Explorer 7. BTW, I had no problem with this before I went to I.E. 11.

I seem to remember this from way back, but I can't find it.

Sara
Image

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Web pages say I'm using I.E. 7

Post by xiaobing » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:58 am

Are you sure that you didn't assign these sites with IE compatible engine?
Is there any link for testing?

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Web pages say I'm using I.E. 7

Post by Sara » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:59 pm

No test link, but where do I find out what the sites are set at? I know in ten there was a choice in Avant (under View, I think) for the browser itself that set IE compatability, but it seems to have vanished. OK, I found the setting to change Avant (rt click on the Desktop icon, pick properties and then the compatability tab) and nothing was reset. I also checked IE the same way and it told me that under this version (11) I can't do that, so I guess I still need...wait, I right clicked the tab and got the choices, so the next time that pops up I'll know what to do! Thank you for the brain starter!
Image

Post Reply