States new version available but is not

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
tmaugham
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 Build 2
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Windows Traditionsl

States new version available but is not

Post by tmaugham » Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:08 pm

I am using Avant Browser version Ultimate 2016 Build 2 on a PC with Windows
7 Ultimate 64bit. It keeps telling me that there is a new version available but when I try to install I get the message that I already have the latest version. In Avant options I unchecked the notify me of new versions box but the message still appears. What is wrong?

Jargon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2016 build 2
Default engine: Internet Explorer
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Jargon » Sun Jan 31, 2016 9:42 am

I have exactly the same problem in all my PCs where I use Avant Browser.
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, Intel Core i7-3770S, Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8, EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 512-GB SSD, 2 x Samsung 830 512-GB SSD, Lite-On iHBS212, SilverStone FP37B, Seasonic Platinum-860, SilverStone Raven RV03B-WA, Dell P2714T, Logitech G19, Logitech G700, Creative GigaWorks S750, APC Smart-UPS SUA1500I

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by xiaobing » Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:42 am

How did you update to the latest version? using auto-update feature or download and install the latest version maually?
Please try to uninstall the current version completely and then then download and install the latest version maually again.

Jargon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2016 build 2
Default engine: Internet Explorer
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Jargon » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:22 am

xiaobing wrote:How did you update to the latest version? using auto-update feature or download and install the latest version maually?
Please try to uninstall the current version completely and then then download and install the latest version maually again.
I actually did both. In one fo my PCs, I manually downloaded and installed the latest update. When that still prompted me to update, I then used the auto-update feature. But that still prompted me to update. I haven't completely uninstalled Avant Browser though. I'll try that.
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, Intel Core i7-3770S, Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8, EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 512-GB SSD, 2 x Samsung 830 512-GB SSD, Lite-On iHBS212, SilverStone FP37B, Seasonic Platinum-860, SilverStone Raven RV03B-WA, Dell P2714T, Logitech G19, Logitech G700, Creative GigaWorks S750, APC Smart-UPS SUA1500I

Jargon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2016 build 2
Default engine: Internet Explorer
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Jargon » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:42 am

Jargon wrote:
xiaobing wrote:How did you update to the latest version? using auto-update feature or download and install the latest version maually?
Please try to uninstall the current version completely and then then download and install the latest version maually again.
I actually did both. In one fo my PCs, I manually downloaded and installed the latest update. When that still prompted me to update, I then used the auto-update feature. But that still prompted me to update. I haven't completely uninstalled Avant Browser though. I'll try that.
Completely uninstalling Avant Browser and then reinstalling didn't work either. I still got the prompt to update.
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, Intel Core i7-3770S, Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8, EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 512-GB SSD, 2 x Samsung 830 512-GB SSD, Lite-On iHBS212, SilverStone FP37B, Seasonic Platinum-860, SilverStone Raven RV03B-WA, Dell P2714T, Logitech G19, Logitech G700, Creative GigaWorks S750, APC Smart-UPS SUA1500I

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by xiaobing » Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:08 am

The problem is recorded.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Arandora » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:08 am

Same for me. Followed all the above steps then used Auto Update which installed Ultimate even though I use Lite version so manually uninstalled Lite without removing Ultimate and it now loads without the message.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

Jargon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2016 build 2
Default engine: Internet Explorer
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Jargon » Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:27 am

I found a workaround. When I launched Avant Browser and got the prompt to update, I clicked the "Yes" button. Then it downloaded the Ultimate version even though I use the Lite version (but that is another issue). After installation, Avant Browser launched and again prompted me to update. I clicked the "Yes" button again. I did this whole process 4 times. On the 5th time, I clicked the "No" button instead. When the Avant Browser window appeared, I checked to make sure that the default rendering engine was "IE11 Standards". Then I closed Avant Browser. Afterwards, I located the Avant Browser program files folder and deleted the "gecko" and "webkit" subfolders (to turn the installation back to the Lite version). After that, I launched Avant Browser and the update prompt was gone.
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, Intel Core i7-3770S, Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8, EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 512-GB SSD, 2 x Samsung 830 512-GB SSD, Lite-On iHBS212, SilverStone FP37B, Seasonic Platinum-860, SilverStone Raven RV03B-WA, Dell P2714T, Logitech G19, Logitech G700, Creative GigaWorks S750, APC Smart-UPS SUA1500I

Jargon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2016 build 2
Default engine: Internet Explorer
IE Version: 11.0
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Jargon » Mon Feb 22, 2016 4:57 am

Jargon wrote:I found a workaround. When I launched Avant Browser and got the prompt to update, I clicked the "Yes" button. Then it downloaded the Ultimate version even though I use the Lite version (but that is another issue). After installation, Avant Browser launched and again prompted me to update. I clicked the "Yes" button again. I did this whole process 4 times. On the 5th time, I clicked the "No" button instead. When the Avant Browser window appeared, I checked to make sure that the default rendering engine was "IE11 Standards". Then I closed Avant Browser. Afterwards, I located the Avant Browser program files folder and deleted the "gecko" and "webkit" subfolders (to turn the installation back to the Lite version). After that, I launched Avant Browser and the update prompt was gone.
The issue came back today. So I did this workaround again. This time, I only did 2 rounds instead of 4. It worked. So 2 rounds seems to be the minimum for this workaround.
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, Intel Core i7-3770S, Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8, EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 512-GB SSD, 2 x Samsung 830 512-GB SSD, Lite-On iHBS212, SilverStone FP37B, Seasonic Platinum-860, SilverStone Raven RV03B-WA, Dell P2714T, Logitech G19, Logitech G700, Creative GigaWorks S750, APC Smart-UPS SUA1500I

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by DUNSEL » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:31 am

I find this behavior pretty consistently, now. Every time there's a new version it prompts you to upgrade forever.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Arandora » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:19 am

It has never happened before this latest version and I have consistently updated either automatically or manually when a new version has been released. It's been reported so hopefully the next version will fix it.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: States new version available but is not

Post by Arandora » Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:07 am

Any progress on a fix or will it be in next real new release? If so any ideas of when this will be?
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

Post Reply