Open link in new tab

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Open link in new tab

Post by Arandora » Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:36 pm

Since installing latest AB 2015 v 27 Lite and not altering any AB Options Settings (well not intentionally anyway) when I click on a link in an open page it always used to take me to a new tab from the link while leaving the original tab open. Now whist this happens with some pages with others the link takes me to a box in the middle of the existing page. Why is this and how can I ensure that all links take me to a new tab as before? This is screenshot of one such page.
Image
Here a screenshot of my AB New Tab Settings.
Image
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by xiaobing » Thu Aug 27, 2015 2:25 am

Try this: On the main menu,there is a down arrow before the skin button, click it>maximise all.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by Arandora » Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:44 am

That makes no difference.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by xiaobing » Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:07 am

Double click the title bar of the box,will it merge to an existing tab?

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by Arandora » Fri Aug 28, 2015 10:58 am

Yes. That worked. Out of interest, why does this happen with some but not others and if it is a change in AB behaviour should it not be included in the changes set out when a new update is available?
Thank you for help though.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by xiaobing » Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:06 am

We didn't change the setting of this part. The tab is just restored, Normally, the mximise all option should work.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Open link in new tab

Post by Arandora » Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:05 am

Clearly it doesn't on both my PC and my laptop.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

Post Reply