Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by Victor Delta » Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:50 pm

Is anyone else experiencing a problem getting some websites to appear on the Firefox version of Avant Ultimate 20015 b17? An example is http://www.mozilla.org which loads but leaves me with a blank screen with 'Read mozorg.cdn.moxilla.org' left at the left hand end of the Avant status bar.

Refreshing just repeats the situation although selecting one of the other rendering engines brings the page up ok.

I've uninstalled Avant and reinstalled a freshly downloaded version, but there's no change.

Firefox v39.0 (standalone version) on the same pc is working fine and has no problems with the websites affected.

I've been using Avant Ultimate with the Firefox engine for ages now without problems until this week's updates. If no one has any suggestions, I'll probably revert to build 10.

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by Victor Delta » Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:41 am

This is another page which is affected by this issue - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news. Most of the pictures do not appear and the message 'Waiting for static.bbci.co.uk...' or 'Read bbc.co.uk' is left in the status bar.

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by Kali » Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:23 pm

These pages load fine in my 2015b17(FF)
If you look at the (right click context menu) Page Info > Media you can see what content from the static.* will not load.
Maybe some add blocking in progress.

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by Victor Delta » Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:52 pm

Nothing obvious. And have turned off Avant's ad blocker and that doesn't seem to make any difference...

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by Victor Delta » Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:05 pm

Kali

Can you please try something? Some of the pages affected come up ok initially but when refreshed exhibit the symptoms described above. Can you see if the same happens at your end please?

Thanks

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17

Post by xiaobing » Mon Jul 27, 2015 2:12 am

The two sites load normally here under firefox engine, no matter how many times I refresh. Do use other extension?

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: Rendering problem with Firefox in Avant 2015 b17 (Solved)

Post by Victor Delta » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:05 am

Thanks. Found the problem. I was using the uBlock add-on and that was causing the problem (although it didn't with previous Avant versions, and doesn't affect the standalone version in the same way).

Post Reply