Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on Win

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Fri May 22, 2015 6:42 pm

I used this
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko
but that made no difference. I'm just guessing here!
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri May 22, 2015 7:04 pm

Bear in mind, it's possible AB is over-riding the values you've specified (you can verify this by testing with another browser).

To test:

http://ip.it-mate.co.uk

e.g. With IE11 and Avant loaded, mine says:

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/7.0; Avant Browser; rv:11.0) like Gecko

Whereas, with IE11 WITHOUT Avant installed/loaded it says:

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/7.0; rv:11.0) like Gecko

This tells me Avant is over-riding and/or ignoring the setting in the registry (especially given "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/7.0; Avant Browser; rv:11.0) like Gecko" does not actually exist anywhere in the registry here ;) ).

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Fri May 22, 2015 7:14 pm

Which means?
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri May 22, 2015 7:19 pm

It's likely there's no way of forcing Avant to use the UA it is supposed to. I've dropped a note to the developer, with a link to this thread.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Fri May 22, 2015 7:27 pm

Thanks. Now back to my recurring Security Alert problem!!!
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Nederpietos » Fri May 22, 2015 7:43 pm

6.2 is Windows 8....try 6.3

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Fri May 22, 2015 8:34 pm

Of course it is! I put 6.2 in by mistake - but still doesn't work with 6.3. :-(
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Nederpietos » Fri May 22, 2015 8:49 pm

I think i have the solution. I gave it earlier already.

Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\5.0\User Agent

In the right field below that default string right click and choose new string value (the one BELOW key).

After its made change its name to Platform, then click it and give it the value Windows NT 6.3


I tested this and it worked. It will override 6.2 and show 6.3 (meaning it will show windows 8.1 instead of 8 )

Don't forget to restart browser.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Sat May 23, 2015 6:10 am

I tried that earlier with the correct string value and it didn't work, then MysteryFCM changed the key location prior to his last posts and that didn't work leading to his conclusion that "It's likely there's no way of forcing Avant to use the UA it is supposed to. I've dropped a note to the developer, with a link to this thread."
I've tried your solution again and it still does't work, so I've deleted the changes to revert back to the oroginal settings.
Thank you for your support though.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Nederpietos » Sat May 23, 2015 9:36 am

key.JPG
It Should look like this
You tried that earlier, but you did it wrong in that pic you showed. you made a new KEY called platform, but you must make a new strng value in User Agent called Platform.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Sat May 23, 2015 10:06 am

I made several changes to the Key location and string settings based on both your and MysteryFM's comments and correcting my "Windows NT 6.2" to "Windows NT 6.3" error and none worked. After trying yours again as shown above it has still not corrected the problem.
This is now the Registry Entry
Image
You will see that in mine the top Name is set as (Default) with a Data value of (value not set) whereas in yours the top Name is (Standaard) with nothing in the Data field. Is that significant?
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Nederpietos » Sat May 23, 2015 10:10 am

mine is dutch...standaard is default. it's the same.


That other Platform below User Agent you can remove.

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Sat May 23, 2015 10:27 am

Done that. Still makes no difference.
Is it worth completely uninstalling AB using Revo Uninstaller after saving my AB profile and then re-installing afresh and adding my current AB Profile?
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Nederpietos » Sat May 23, 2015 10:32 am

you might try that, but i'm curious what your UA string is now on http://www.enhanceie.com/ua.aspx

Can you post it? i hope you restarted Avant and closed regedit

User avatar
Arandora
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Win 8.1 64 PC/Win 8. 64 laptop
Avant Version: Both AB Lite 2016 v2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE 11 on PC and laptop
Skin: Aluminium
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK

Re: Why do I see "Your PC has Windows 8 but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now" message but I am on

Post by Arandora » Sat May 23, 2015 11:04 am

Here it is:
Image
I closed both AB and RegEdit and rebooted my PC. This is exactly the same on both my PC and laptop that have Win 8.1, IE11 and latest AB Lite.
Laptop Windows 8.2 64 bit, IE11; PC Win 8.1, IE11. Both AB Lite 2016 b 2 IE Favorites, IE11 Standards rendering engine.

Post Reply