Avant Browser

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Mon May 12, 2014 5:57 am

How to install more than one version of avant browser?
I am waiting for feedback and reply
Best Regards,
Sherif Ayad
Last edited by MysteryFCM on Tue May 13, 2014 4:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Email address removed

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11318
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon May 12, 2014 10:55 am

Use the USB version. It doesn't 'install' so you can place however many versions you want wherever you want.*

You can download prior versions, if you don't have them saved, here

*I've run into issues with certain settings getting all mucked up moving back and forth from a newer version to an older version. If you keep the profiles separate, you shouldn't have this issue, but it also means you won't have matching bookmarks, autofills, etc. from version to version.

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:33 pm

How to run more than one version of avant browser at the same time?
I am waiting for feedback and reply
Best Regards,
Sherif Ayad
sherifayad2010@live.com

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:19 pm

How to run more than one version of avant browser at the same time?
I am waiting for feedback and reply
Best Regards,
Sherif Ayad
Last edited by MysteryFCM on Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Email address removed

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant Browser

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:44 am

Use USB version, and each version use runextra parameter:right click the avant icon on desktop>properties>shortcut>target>add " -runextra" at the end(quotation mark is not included, and there is a space before -)

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:23 pm

Dear Support Team,
I have tried what you explain in details but I am sorry it did not work completely
Best Regards,
Sherif Ayad
Last edited by MysteryFCM on Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed email address

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant Browser

Post by xiaobing » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:09 am

How doesn't it work? Could you please tell us more detailed?

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:45 am

When adding -runextra to second version every time it says you should run as administrator and it loops this happened with 2013, 2014 and 2015 is there any fix for this problem because I run the program as administrator.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant Browser

Post by xiaobing » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:44 am

Try this: Right click the desktop icon>shortcut>advanced>run as an administrator

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:32 am

This message already appears when running as administrator how to fix this.
Notice the two versions are in different partitions.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant Browser

Post by xiaobing » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:01 am

Is your windows account Administrator? I just downloaded two usb versions and ran them at the same time using runextra parameter,but didn't see any problem.
Only the second usb version has problem?

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:22 am

Any help

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 484
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 12 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Avant Browser

Post by Nederpietos » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:27 pm

You Probably have UAC enabled and should disable it.Read and try this: http://techzend.com/disable-user-accoun ... indows-81/

And reboot after that.

Btw, you will get faster and better help if you answer questions that are asked. Xiaobing asked: "Only the second usb version has problem?"

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:05 pm

Yes only the second USB version has problem.

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Sat Sep 19, 2015 12:32 pm

UAC is disabled and the problem still arises

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 484
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 12 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Avant Browser

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:37 pm

ok, you better enable it again then, it's safer.

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:57 pm

But how to solve the loop of second usb problem run as administrator?

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 484
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 12 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Avant Browser

Post by Nederpietos » Sun Sep 20, 2015 5:04 am

Maybe Xiaobing will have any idea sunday night (monday morning for her).

Only thing i can think of is: go to that Avant.exe of the usb version, rightclick it and choose "run as Aministrator".

Btw, i don't know where you "installed" that usb-version, but according to me you should extract that usb-version to the USB-stick itself and not to your harddisk.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant Browser

Post by xiaobing » Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:49 am

Please try this: Right click that Avant.exe>properties>compatibility>check the option "run the program in compatibility mode".
What's the version number of that usb version? Have you tried other usb version or change the path of that usb version?

User avatar
SherifAyad66
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: sherifayad2010@live.
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Default

Re: Avant Browser

Post by SherifAyad66 » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:23 pm

This happened with 2013, 2014 and 2015 USB versions from hard disk and USB also the same problem no difference what happened is avant is running as administrator but the annoying is always appearing many times and I try the compatibility settings but nothing changed is there any fix for this problem.

Post Reply