ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
gregb204
Fan
Fan
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:20 am
Windows Version: win 10 home 64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2016 build 10, Released 9.21.20
Default engine: lite
IE Version: edge
Skin: aero
Location: usa

ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by gregb204 » Tue May 20, 2014 7:00 pm

I installed newest ab and been getting locked up pages after a while of surfing. I x to close out and then start over and usully works . sometimes I have to go to task mgr and close the y browser to be able to open ab. Some reason it doesnt close like avant does .

Should I uninstall ab and reinstall as when I updated ran on top of old vers w o uninstalling. ? would that help my freezon screens.? I have uninstalled several running prog for system cleanup.

gregb204
Fan
Fan
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:20 am
Windows Version: win 10 home 64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2016 build 10, Released 9.21.20
Default engine: lite
IE Version: edge
Skin: aero
Location: usa

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by gregb204 » Tue May 20, 2014 7:02 pm

ps how to update profile. I use ie 10.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by Nederpietos » Tue May 20, 2014 8:48 pm

Under User Control Panel--> Profile and then scroll down.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by xiaobing » Wed May 21, 2014 3:16 am

gregb204 wrote:Should I uninstall ab and reinstall as when I updated ran on top of old vers w o uninstalling. ? would that help my freezon screens.?
It's normal to install the new version without uninstalling the old one.
Renaming your current Avant profiles folder and then restarting Avant to see whether the problem disappears.

HeartofIce
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: Ultimate 2014 Build 5
Default engine: IE11 Standard
IE Version: 11
Skin: Aluminum

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by HeartofIce » Wed May 21, 2014 6:46 pm

My browser freezes up all the time. I posted my own topic about this last week and got no help. I'm constantly closing the browser because it's not responding. My friend had the same problem and finally switched browsers because they couldn't stand it any longer.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by Nederpietos » Wed May 21, 2014 7:49 pm

Only thing you can try is: uninstall flash, then uninstall Avant, reboot, install Avant again and as latest install flash again.

HeartofIce
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1
Avant Version: Ultimate 2014 Build 5
Default engine: IE11 Standard
IE Version: 11
Skin: Aluminum

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by HeartofIce » Wed May 21, 2014 9:55 pm

Speaking for myself of course I have Windows 8.1 and flash is already integrated in. I shouldn't have to disable it and then re-enable it just for my browser to work.

gregb204
Fan
Fan
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:20 am
Windows Version: win 10 home 64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2016 build 10, Released 9.21.20
Default engine: lite
IE Version: edge
Skin: aero
Location: usa

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by gregb204 » Wed May 21, 2014 11:18 pm

Nederpietos wrote:Under User Control Panel--> Profile and then scroll down.
thanks worked.

gregb204
Fan
Fan
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:20 am
Windows Version: win 10 home 64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2016 build 10, Released 9.21.20
Default engine: lite
IE Version: edge
Skin: aero
Location: usa

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by gregb204 » Thu May 22, 2014 2:55 pm

xiaobing wrote:
gregb204 wrote:Should I uninstall ab and reinstall as when I updated ran on top of old vers w o uninstalling. ? would that help my freezon screens.?
It's normal to install the new version without uninstalling the old one.
Renaming your current Avant profiles folder and then restarting Avant to see whether the problem disappears.
I renamed ab under c drive x86 then not able to open my ab shortcut. was that what suppose to do.? which profile do u mean.?

thanks

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by Nederpietos » Thu May 22, 2014 4:17 pm

Xiaobing means this Folder C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles

gregb204
Fan
Fan
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:20 am
Windows Version: win 10 home 64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2016 build 10, Released 9.21.20
Default engine: lite
IE Version: edge
Skin: aero
Location: usa

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by gregb204 » Fri May 23, 2014 12:01 am

thanks , I went to that folder and changed and now lost all bookmarks but fire fox. so changed back but it already made a new one like the old ones name. so now trying to uinstall and reinstall see if get bookmarks on screen.

did make a new page for ab. but didn't use as like my bookmarks. hope to sync them back on new install .

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: ybrowser avant both show up freezes

Post by xiaobing » Fri May 23, 2014 2:36 am

For example, rename you current Avant profiles to Avant profiles_bak.
A brand new Avant profiles will be created when you start Avant, and now your Avant is on defult setting, so no bookmarks.It's normal.All your settings are still stored in Avant profiles_bak folder.
(If you want to get your settings back, just delete the new Avant profiles folder and then rename the Avant profiles_bak folder back to Avant pfofiles again.)

Use Avant for some time with the new Avant profiles and see whether the problem persists.

Post Reply