Page 1 of 1

Online Storage: how it is supposed to work

Posted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 9:34 pm
by schar07
Hi,

as i was having issues with my bookmarks not sync'ing with the very old online copy, i tried to delete my online storage account by clicking on the small letter-with-red-x at the right of "Email Address:" on the Online Storage access panel. Well result was my whole local profile got deleted from disk!

Now, is it the way it is supposed to work? How can i delete my Online Storage content and start back from scratch?

Moreover, where is the sync icon/button gone? It was in the Status Bar (not with new skins...Stickers and Opal have no SB at all which is quite annoying) when logged online.

Thank you,
Schar07

Re: Online Storage: how it is supposed to work

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:04 am
by xiaobing
clicking on the small letter-with-red-x at the right of "Email Address:" on the Online Storage access panel.
This option is used to delete the email address shown on the Email address box, just delete the account information in your computer, rather then deleting the account in our server.

If you want to delete all the content in online storage, please just login your online storage account and then go to Tools>Avant browser options>click the Load default button on bottom left corner. Then all your data in online storage will be set to default.
Another simple way is to register a new account.

Here is the online storage button on 2013 versions:
online storage button.png
online storage button.png (1.86 KiB) Viewed 1298 times
It's on top left corner.

Re: Online Storage: how it is supposed to work

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:54 am
by schar07
Thanks,

after logging online and loading default options, if i sync what will get the precedence? I mean, the newest copy will be online and i am afraid that sync'ing will reset my local profile settings/bookmarks/feeds - which is not what i need.

Rgds,
Schar

Re: Online Storage: how it is supposed to work

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:49 am
by xiaobing
If you add new bookmarks/autofills/other setting after loading default options, these data will be upload to online automatically within 15 seconds.
Online storage is separated with local storage. You can treat them as two different accounts, they don't affect each other.

If you want syn your local setting to online, please go to File>Import> User data from another account>From my local Avant browser profiles>choose the items you want to syn.

Re: Online Storage: how it is supposed to work

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:49 am
by schar07
Thanks xiaobing, i now understand and previously i got it wrong.

Schar