search engines

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

search engines

Postby rajko » Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:39 pm

Hi,

I added Bing to search engines and made it default. However, when Avant opens the search page the URL is all wrong. For example, if I search on "avant browser" the URL will be "http://www.bing.comavant+browser"

Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Also, is there a way to always open new tab when left-clicking on links on searches?

Thanks.
rajko
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version: 2013 113
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 10
Skin: Stickers on glass (stupid q)
Top

Re: search engines

Post Reply #1 by mbrazil » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:34 pm

rajko wrote:I added Bing to search engines and made it default. However, when Avant opens the search page the URL is all wrong. For example, if I search on "avant browser" the URL will be "http://www.bing.comavant+browser"
Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Use this for the URL for Bing: http://www.bing.com/search?q=

Any time you want to add a search engine, first go to the engine's page (google.com, bing.com, etc.) enter a search term, and when you initiate the search, copy the portion of the URL (in the Address Bar) to the left of the search term. Then paste it into the URL field for the search you're setting up in Avant. For example, if you searched for Avant on the Bing home page, the URL that appears in the Address Bar when you start the search would be:

http://www.bing.com/search?q=Avant&qs=n ... &sp=-1&sk=

Since you searched for Avant, you'd copy the portion of the URL to the left of the A in Avant, which is:

http://www.bing.com/search?q=.

rajko wrote:Also, is there a way to always open new tab when left-clicking on links on searches?

Go to Avant Browser Options > New Tab > Always create a new tab for: and put a check in the box for Search Result.

Also, see viewtopic.php?f=97&t=33027.
mbrazil
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Top

Re: search engines

Post Reply #2 by rajko » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:08 pm

The bing search string works - awesome.

As for the new tab from searches - that doesn't work for me (the setting you mentioned in on). Tried with bing and google and both are the same regardless of the default rendering engine. I made bing work by changing its own options but google - no.

No biggie, though. It's just one of those nice-to-haves.

Awesome browser!!! Keep up the good work!
rajko
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version: 2013 113
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 10
Skin: Stickers on glass (stupid q)
Top

Re: search engines

Post Reply #3 by xiaobing » Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:01 am

rajko wrote:As for the new tab from searches - that doesn't work for me (the setting you mentioned in on). Tried with bing and google and both are the same regardless of the default rendering engine. I made bing work by changing its own options but google - no.

No biggie, though. It's just one of those nice-to-haves

You can also drag and drop feature to open a link in a new tab. Set drag and drop feature here: Avant browser options>mouse
Or use ctrl+left click to open a link in a new tab in background. shift+left click to open a link in a new tab in foreground.
xiaobing
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3713
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
Top


Return to Avant Browser Help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]

ABPro style designed by Statm1