search engines

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, Developer, AvantGuard

rajko
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version: 2013 113
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 10
Skin: Stickers on glass (stupid q)

search engines

Postby rajko » Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:39 pm

Hi,

I added Bing to search engines and made it default. However, when Avant opens the search page the URL is all wrong. For example, if I search on "avant browser" the URL will be "http://www.bing.comavant+browser"

Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Also, is there a way to always open new tab when left-clicking on links on searches?

Thanks.

User avatar
mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: search engines

Postby mbrazil » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:34 pm

rajko wrote:I added Bing to search engines and made it default. However, when Avant opens the search page the URL is all wrong. For example, if I search on "avant browser" the URL will be "http://www.bing.comavant+browser"
Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Use this for the URL for Bing: http://www.bing.com/search?q=

Any time you want to add a search engine, first go to the engine's page (google.com, bing.com, etc.) enter a search term, and when you initiate the search, copy the portion of the URL (in the Address Bar) to the left of the search term. Then paste it into the URL field for the search you're setting up in Avant. For example, if you searched for Avant on the Bing home page, the URL that appears in the Address Bar when you start the search would be:

http://www.bing.com/search?q=Avant&qs=n ... &sp=-1&sk=

Since you searched for Avant, you'd copy the portion of the URL to the left of the A in Avant, which is:

http://www.bing.com/search?q=.

rajko wrote:Also, is there a way to always open new tab when left-clicking on links on searches?

Go to Avant Browser Options > New Tab > Always create a new tab for: and put a check in the box for Search Result.

Also, see viewtopic.php?f=97&t=33027.

rajko
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version: 2013 113
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 10
Skin: Stickers on glass (stupid q)

Re: search engines

Postby rajko » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:08 pm

The bing search string works - awesome.

As for the new tab from searches - that doesn't work for me (the setting you mentioned in on). Tried with bing and google and both are the same regardless of the default rendering engine. I made bing work by changing its own options but google - no.

No biggie, though. It's just one of those nice-to-haves.

Awesome browser!!! Keep up the good work!

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4097
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: search engines

Postby xiaobing » Mon Sep 02, 2013 2:01 am

rajko wrote:As for the new tab from searches - that doesn't work for me (the setting you mentioned in on). Tried with bing and google and both are the same regardless of the default rendering engine. I made bing work by changing its own options but google - no.

No biggie, though. It's just one of those nice-to-haves

You can also drag and drop feature to open a link in a new tab. Set drag and drop feature here: Avant browser options>mouse
Or use ctrl+left click to open a link in a new tab in background. shift+left click to open a link in a new tab in foreground.


Return to “Avant Browser Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users