---Downloader does not work any more.

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
sftom
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:46 am
Avant Version:

---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by sftom » Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:11 am

In the past I used Downloader, but now it does not work.

No even when I select all the files.

Saw there may be a beta version, but no place to read about it or download it.

Definitely time to go to bed.

Thanks...SFTom

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by xiaobing » Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:14 am

How doesn't it work? The task window doesn't popup? or no speed when you download a file?

CubedCodeMonkey
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:12 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Avant Ultimate 2013
Default engine: TBD
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Default

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by CubedCodeMonkey » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:24 am

I've noticed an issue with the downloader that renders it largely useless.

I've installed Avant Ultimate 2013 build 110 on two machines - my home machine and my work machine. Both are running Windows 7 64-bit. On my work machine, the downloader seemed to work properly. On my home machine, any file I download has a size of 0 bytes and cannot be opened or executed.

What would cause the issue on one machine with the same OS and version as a separate install that works, and how can I fix it? I've tried re-downloading multiple times, both preserving user settings and clearing them out to start completely fresh - nothing seems to work.

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:18 am

CubedCodeMonkey wrote:I've noticed an issue with the downloader that renders it largely useless.

I've installed Avant Ultimate 2013 build 110 on two machines - my home machine and my work machine. Both are running Windows 7 64-bit. On my work machine, the downloader seemed to work properly. On my home machine, any file I download has a size of 0 bytes and cannot be opened or executed.

What would cause the issue on one machine with the same OS and version as a separate install that works, and how can I fix it? I've tried re-downloading multiple times, both preserving user settings and clearing them out to start completely fresh - nothing seems to work.
this is the exact problem i was having i get the window with all the sizes and i press download and it finishes instantly with file size of 0 and always fails

Climhazard
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Lite x64
Avant Version: 2012 Build 197
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Aero Glass

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by Climhazard » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:47 am

Always same problems. Downloader needs to get these 2 bugs fixed or it will remain unusable. Even tried addon for chrome from webstore and its same.

Problem #1: There's a 10% chance that any (random) archived files you download will be corrupted. This gets really annoying when you download large archived files.

Problem #2: There's a 5% chance that any file you download will be 0-1kb in size and unusable. This seems to have 50% to 100% chance on file sharing sites like uploaded.net

The problems cannot be reproduced on demand. Its all random. Its always a gamble to download with current downloader...

sftom
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:46 am
Avant Version:

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by sftom » Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:58 pm

Still no answer and more important...solution. And is there a newer Beta Version that might work? How does one find where to download it. When will the finished version be available?

When I want to download a video, there is more than one file for one video!

One video included 44 files. I have selected all, they all do get downloaded. I do not see how this would work.

Please post the answer.

sftom
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:46 am
Avant Version:

Downloader does not work anymore

Post by sftom » Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:01 pm

Still no answer and more important...solution. And is there a newer Beta Version that might work? How does one find where to download it. When will the finished version be available?

When I want to download a video, there is more than one file for one video!

One video included 44 files. I have selected all, they all do get downloaded. I do not see how this would work.

Climhazard
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Lite x64
Avant Version: 2012 Build 197
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Aero Glass

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by Climhazard » Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:32 am

You select the largest file from the list, that's most likely the video.

Downloader either works for you or it doesn't. There won't be updates anytime soon, so either turn it off or use another downloader. I'm using the default engine one instead.
sftom wrote:Definitely time to go to bed.
This.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:17 am

How can I download videos from youtube?---- 14/6/2012
On youtube, Avant can only download videos played by html5 player.
Right click on the video, if it shows up a flash player context menu(there will be an item About Adobe Flash Player *****), Avant can't get the full size, if it shows up a html5 context menu(there will be an item About Html5), Avant can get the full size.
For making the video played by html5 player, you have to go to http://www.youtube.com/html5 and join html5 test, and then reopen the video link , it will be played with html5 player, and then you can download it with avant downloader.
Another user Crazy_John uses Magic actions for youtube in latest Avant Browser, he said he can download both videos played by flash player and html5 player. For getting it:
http://www.chromeactions.com/
Reference:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31302&start=20#p184501

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by Victor Delta » Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:04 am

It used to work but now when I try to download a file, downloader downloads something but then re-downloads the previous file I wanted to download!

Presumably the download database is corrupt. How do I delete it and start again please?

(Using 2013 b112 although problem started with b110)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by xiaobing » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:56 am

Try to delete the Avant Downloader folder (in the same path of Avant profiles folder)

User avatar
Victor Delta
Fan
Fan
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 b2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Office XP
Location: Poole, UK

Re: ---Downloader does not work any more.

Post by Victor Delta » Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:43 pm

xiaobing wrote:Try to delete the Avant Downloader folder (in the same path of Avant profiles folder)
Many thanks. That seems to have fixed the problem.

Post Reply