How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri May 03, 2013 1:42 pm

How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

I'm trying to move it from the right to the left, but can't. Or am I misunderstanding the changelog?

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Fri May 03, 2013 5:03 pm

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 56#p191597

From the looks of things, it's not likely we'll be able to move the Sidebar back where it belongs unless we can convince Anderson to separate the new UI into a separate version of Avant or just accept reality and dump it altogether.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri May 03, 2013 9:20 pm

Well, that addresses half of the post. Does anyone know was
[Fix]The whole sidebar can be moved
refers to?

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Fri May 03, 2013 10:27 pm

It's my assumption that "[Fix]The whole sidebar can be moved" refers to a supposed fix for being able to drag the Sidebar with its left border, which was apparently not an intended capability. In either case, nothing was fixed regarding the Sidebar. You can still drag it left or right with its left border, and it still screws the content pane up badly when you do. See http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 18&t=32536.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat May 04, 2013 4:57 am

Oh, so the sidebar wouldn't resize? Okay, that makes sense

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by xiaobing » Sat May 04, 2013 7:20 am

The sidebar can resize,but cannot move to the left.
and it still screws the content pane up badly when you do
@ Mike,Can you show me a screenshot? I don't see this problem any more.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Sat May 04, 2013 7:48 am

I'll grab a screenshot and post it in the morning. It's almost 1AM here and I can't see straight anymore.

mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by mynamehere » Sat May 04, 2013 8:35 am

After updating to build 107 my sidebar is GONE. I haven't been able to reenable it either.
I absolutely hate the way IE handles favorites, which is what build 107 sticks me with. So it's back to build 23 for me, since w/o the sidebar, I might as well just use IE.
Bad enough we have to use old skins to have tabs on bottom, but I can live with that.
I'm not exactly fond of the new buttons either.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by mathman » Sat May 04, 2013 6:42 pm

mynamehere wrote:After updating to build 107 my sidebar is GONE. I haven't been able to reenable it either.
I absolutely hate the way IE handles favorites, which is what build 107 sticks me with. So it's back to build 23 for me, since w/o the sidebar, I might as well just use IE.
Bad enough we have to use old skins to have tabs on bottom, but I can live with that.
I'm not exactly fond of the new buttons either.
Click on "View". Check "Status Bar". This should enable sidebar (on the right in build 107).

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Sat May 04, 2013 7:10 pm

avant1.jpg
avant2.jpg
Attachments
avant3.jpg

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Sat May 04, 2013 7:11 pm

avant4.jpg

mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by mynamehere » Sun May 05, 2013 1:02 am

mathman wrote:
mynamehere wrote:After updating to build 107 my sidebar is GONE. I haven't been able to reenable it either.
I absolutely hate the way IE handles favorites, which is what build 107 sticks me with. So it's back to build 23 for me, since w/o the sidebar, I might as well just use IE.
Bad enough we have to use old skins to have tabs on bottom, but I can live with that.
I'm not exactly fond of the new buttons either.
Click on "View". Check "Status Bar". This should enable sidebar (on the right in build 107).
Any other ideas, because that didn't do it.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by xiaobing » Mon May 06, 2013 5:39 am

mynamehere wrote:
mathman wrote:
mynamehere wrote:After updating to build 107 my sidebar is GONE. I haven't been able to reenable it either.
I absolutely hate the way IE handles favorites, which is what build 107 sticks me with. So it's back to build 23 for me, since w/o the sidebar, I might as well just use IE.
Bad enough we have to use old skins to have tabs on bottom, but I can live with that.
I'm not exactly fond of the new buttons either.
Click on "View". Check "Status Bar". This should enable sidebar (on the right in build 107).
Any other ideas, because that didn't do it.
View>Bookmarks, can you open the sidebar?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by xiaobing » Mon May 06, 2013 5:40 am

@Mike, thank you for your images. I think the tabs I open is too less compared with the ones in your image.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by mbrazil » Mon May 06, 2013 5:52 am

xiaobing wrote:@Mike, thank you for your images. I think the tabs I open is too less compared with the ones in your image.
That could be, but I don't see how the number of open tabs would create a situation in which the Sidebar can be dragged beyond Avant's side borders, how it would influence whether or not the content pane would be hidden when the Sidebar is dragged, or how it would prevent the content pane and Sidebar from growing vertically as the window height is increased.

I'll test to see whether I can duplicate the problems with fewer tabs open and let you know the results.

mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by mynamehere » Mon May 06, 2013 7:12 am

xiaobing wrote:View>Bookmarks, can you open the sidebar?
AHA!

So many upgrades, and the sidebar never disappeared before, so that never even occurred on me.

Thanks


Now if I can just get the sidebar to move.

schar07
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 5:06 pm
Windows Version: W7 Ent x64 SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate 2014 build 7
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by schar07 » Wed May 08, 2013 12:19 pm

mynamehere wrote:
mathman wrote:
mynamehere wrote:After updating to build 107 my sidebar is GONE. I haven't been able to reenable it either.
I absolutely hate the way IE handles favorites, which is what build 107 sticks me with. So it's back to build 23 for me, since w/o the sidebar, I might as well just use IE.
Bad enough we have to use old skins to have tabs on bottom, but I can live with that.
I'm not exactly fond of the new buttons either.
Click on "View". Check "Status Bar". This should enable sidebar (on the right in build 107).
Any other ideas, because that didn't do it.
Which skin are you using? To me if you use the new Stickers/Opal yyou cannot show status bar anymore, but with older skins it works

mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Move it? I can't even FIND it!

Post by mynamehere » Thu May 09, 2013 6:28 am

schar07 wrote:Which skin are you using? To me if you use the new Stickers/Opal yyou cannot show status bar anymore, but with older skins it works
I'm using Monai Xp, since new skins don't allow tabs on bottom.
I did fnd the sidebar, but do miss the expand/collapse section on the bar (probably why I thought is was gone). The "open side bar" button at the botom is just too small and out of the way to be handy.
I still can't get the sidebar to move, even if I change to a new skin. It will only resize.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by creep » Thu May 09, 2013 6:49 am

I've had the Favourites sidebar permanently on for years - and on the left.

Just installed 107 - it's on the right - I don't want it there.

I can't move it, so I close it to see if that helps ....


No, can't bring it back now.

107 is coming off right now ! :thumbdown:

Please stop wasting your time improving it worse !

schar07
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 5:06 pm
Windows Version: W7 Ent x64 SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate 2014 build 7
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: How do you move the whole sidebar in Build 107?

Post by schar07 » Thu May 09, 2013 2:11 pm

Sorry, i got you were searching for status bar too, while you were interested in side bar only

Post Reply