avant browser 2013

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

avant browser 2013

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:46 pm

can i put tabs on bottom of screen or is it not supported?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:25 am

I believe it was said somewhere that it's not possible with the new interface (and I can't do it). I'm using one of the old "skins" in 2013, though, and can

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:47 am

hornakapopolis wrote:I believe it was said somewhere that it's not possible with the new interface (and I can't do it). I'm using one of the old "skins" in 2013, though, and can
yea u can but it cuts the tabs off on the bottom y cant anderson just make it llike the new ie9 but instead of tabs on top put them on bottom with same visual style is it not possible i think 2013 has some nice feature but not really liking the new design unless i can get my tabs on bottom its a nit pick for me but i just wish he would do it

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:21 am

Hmmm... I'm not getting the tabs cut-off. I do have Firefox's Add-ons bar showing, but Avant forces the tabs below it, so I don't think that is making the difference. I could be wrong, though.

What odd, though, is that I can see the entire bold line around my active tab, as well as a few pixels beneath it, but any screenshots I take have it cut off

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by mbrazil » Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:19 am

dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote:i think 2013 has some nice feature but not really liking the new design unless i can get my tabs on bottom its a nit pick for me but i just wish he would do it
I don't much care for the new user interface at all, so I just went back to the skin I was using in previous versions. If you do that, you can still move the tabs bar to the bottom of the window until (if) Anderson makes it possible to move the tab bar to the bottom of the window in the new interface. I don't know if there are any new features in 2013 that are only available using the new interface, but so far, I haven't found any.

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:41 am

mbrazil wrote:
dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote:i think 2013 has some nice feature but not really liking the new design unless i can get my tabs on bottom its a nit pick for me but i just wish he would do it
I don't much care for the new user interface at all, so I just went back to the skin I was using in previous versions. If you do that, you can still move the tabs bar to the bottom of the window until (if) Anderson makes it possible to move the tab bar to the bottom of the window in the new interface. I don't know if there are any new features in 2013 that are only available using the new interface, but so far, I haven't found any.
i tried that but for some weird reason it cuts off my tabs and they r hidden under part of the windows taskbar its annoying

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by mbrazil » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:54 am

dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote:i tried that but for some weird reason it cuts off my tabs and they r hidden under part of the windows taskbar its annoying
Is your taskbar set to be on top of other windows? You could also set the taskbar to Autohide.

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:57 am

mbrazil wrote:
dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote:i tried that but for some weird reason it cuts off my tabs and they r hidden under part of the windows taskbar its annoying
Is your taskbar set to be on top of other windows? You could also set the taskbar to Autohide.
the new browser sucks i dont like the style at all back to the old for me until i see better improvements should of made the tabs go on bottom with new style

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by mbrazil » Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:01 am

It's working great here using one of the old skins. There are bugs (it's a beta after all), but overall, it's working much better in most ways than Avant 2012 ever did.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by xiaobing » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:16 am

dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote: the new browser sucks i dont like the style at all back to the old for me until i see better improvements should of made the tabs go on bottom with new style
Right click toolbar area>skins, use any skin below the dotted line to get back the old style.

icmkarthi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:41 am
Windows Version: 8
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: 10

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by icmkarthi » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:31 am

how to get themes for avant browser and addons..


Regards,
Icmkarthi,
packers and movers in delhi
icmpacknmove.com

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: avant browser 2013

Post by xiaobing » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:38 am

Avant skins: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewforum.php?f=60
Add-ons for firefox: Tools>Mozilla firefox>add-ons
extension for chrome: Tools>google chrome>options>extensions>get more extensions.
IE plug-ins: http://www.iegallery.com/en-us/PinnedSites

mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

Old skins have tabs on bottom, but they need fixing

Post by mynamehere » Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:13 am

The old skins listed below the separator in the skin menu still allow tabs on bottom. The problem is that they are hidden by the taskbar when Avant is maximized.

If possible, this really needs to be fixed since, among a few other things, it's one of my biggest reasons for using Avant.

No/malfunctioning tabs on bottom really sucks IMO. :cry:


The taskbar always on top option was removed from W7, so auto hide is the only option. I don't like auto hide, so it's not a viable option for me.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Old skins have tabs on bottom, but they need fixing

Post by mbrazil » Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:55 am

mynamehere wrote:The old skins listed below the separator in the skin menu still allow tabs on bottom. The problem is that they are hidden by the taskbar when Avant is maximized.
As a temporary workaround until this is fixed, run Avant in a window instead of full-screen, and drag the borders so that it's the same size as the desktop. This will prevent part of Avant from being behind the taskbar.

Post Reply