"An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Den
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:32 pm
Windows Version: XP HE/Win 7 64/
Avant Version: 2014 built 2
Default engine: IE
IE Version: IE11
Skin: crystal

"An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Den » Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:22 pm

While using AB 11.7 or any 2012 versions (with IE8) I always get this: ""An add-on for this website failed to run...." on many websites. Very annoying. Using IE8 alone gives me the same result.

I've tried adding the site to the "Trusted sites" as recommended: no success. I suppose that the problem to be with IE8 if I'm not mistaken ? BUT then how come the problem is solved while using Maxthon 3 ??

Just can't find the solution.

Den

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by bigC » Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:26 pm

Is disable scripts or anything selected under Tools?

What site gives the error?

Den
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:32 pm
Windows Version: XP HE/Win 7 64/
Avant Version: 2014 built 2
Default engine: IE
IE Version: IE11
Skin: crystal

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Den » Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:33 pm

bigC wrote:Is disable scripts or anything selected under Tools?

What site gives the error?
Only selected tools: "Open Pop-up Pages in the Foreground"

The website that gives me problems is: http://www.radio-canada.ca/grands-titres
Usually loading that first page is a problem. If not, opening links on that page will be a problem.
Den

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by brawnymike » Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:15 am

Did you also make sure that the checkboxes for "Disable Script Debugging" are checked in
Tools-->Internet Explorer-->Internet Options-->"Advanced" tab--"Settings" list ?

Den
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:32 pm
Windows Version: XP HE/Win 7 64/
Avant Version: 2014 built 2
Default engine: IE
IE Version: IE11
Skin: crystal

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Den » Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:53 am

brawnymike wrote:Did you also make sure that the checkboxes for "Disable Script Debugging" are checked in
Tools-->Internet Explorer-->Internet Options-->"Advanced" tab--"Settings" list ?
Yes, those two are checked.

Den

Den
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:32 pm
Windows Version: XP HE/Win 7 64/
Avant Version: 2014 built 2
Default engine: IE
IE Version: IE11
Skin: crystal

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Den » Tue Jun 26, 2012 7:36 pm

Even more a mystery...

This morning loging in that same website I had the same problem "An add-on......" all over the place.

But this afternoon, everything is perfect. No problem at all.

Den

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Jasmine » Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:01 am

Try whether enabling the following options helps if it happens again?
Add the site to your trusted site from Tools->Internet Explorer->Internet Options->Security->Trusted Site.
In Tools->Internet Explorer->Internet Options->Security->Trusted Site->Custom Level,enable

1 Allow Previously Unused Activex controls to run without prompt
2 Automatic prompting for activex controls
3 Binary and Script behaviors
4 Download Signed Activex controls
5 Initialize and script Activex controls not marked as safe for scripting (this should prevent the prompt).
6 Run Activex Controls and plug-ins
7 Script Activex Controls marked safe for scripting
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Den
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:32 pm
Windows Version: XP HE/Win 7 64/
Avant Version: 2014 built 2
Default engine: IE
IE Version: IE11
Skin: crystal

Re: "An add-on for this website failed to run...."

Post by Den » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:06 am

Jasmine wrote:Try whether enabling the following options helps if it happens again?
Add the site to your trusted site from Tools->Internet Explorer->Internet Options->Security->Trusted Site.
In Tools->Internet Explorer->Internet Options->Security->Trusted Site->Custom Level,enable

1 Allow Previously Unused Activex controls to run without prompt
2 Automatic prompting for activex controls
3 Binary and Script behaviors
4 Download Signed Activex controls
5 Initialize and script Activex controls not marked as safe for scripting (this should prevent the prompt).
6 Run Activex Controls and plug-ins
7 Script Activex Controls marked safe for scripting
I have five out of those seven options that are disables.
Thanks for your suggestions.

Post Reply