Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:53 pm

While installing/running Avant asks if he should be the default browser. It associates then by default to 6 items: url, htm, html, ftp, http and https. First one breaks desktop shortcuts to games created by Steam app. They are url shortcuts which normally look like other desktop shortcuts, have icons of the games executables etc. They "Address URL" looks like this: "steam://rungameid/72850" (Skyrim shortcut). After setting Avant from installation/while running when it checks if its's default browser when I select for it to be default browser those links are becoming unusable and having the avant url icon. Games can't be launched. I know one of solutions is not selecting default browser while installation/running Avant and selecting default things without urls manually from the options menu, but with other browsers it doesn't happen. Can it be done something to default browser check script that it won't mess with Steam protocol associations?
Image

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by xiaobing » Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:23 am

It happens when you install 2012 beta 130?
The desktop icon is the shortcut of a game installed in your computer?

User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:52 am

xiaobing wrote:It happens when you install 2012 beta 130?
Yes, forgot to mention that, but it also happened with some previous releases.
The desktop icon is the shortcut of a game installed in your computer?
Indeed. These are games' shortcuts downloaded and installed through Steam service.
Image

User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:59 pm

Is there any solution introduced?
Image

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by AbelAbel » Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:17 am

It associates then by default to 6 items: url, htm, html, ftp, http and https. First one breaks desktop shortcuts to games created by Steam app.
What's steam app? Is it a software I need to install to create the games shortcuts?

User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Fri Aug 31, 2012 7:23 am

AbelAbel wrote:
It associates then by default to 6 items: url, htm, html, ftp, http and https. First one breaks desktop shortcuts to games created by Steam app.
What's steam app? Is it a software I need to install to create the games shortcuts?
steampowered.com
Online games shop. It's application used to download and install games is called Steam and while installing them it also creates desktop shortcuts for them (in format I described in firs post).
Image

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by xiaobing » Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:41 am

I installed Steam, but how can I install games? I just see some servers can be installed in LIBRARY. There is no option to install the games in STORE.

User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:56 am

xiaobing wrote:I installed Steam, but how can I install games? I just see some servers can be installed in LIBRARY. There is no option to install the games in STORE.
You have to own a game or buy them. Else you can find in Store there are some Free to Play titles like Team Fortress 2 and after downloading (which in fact is installing) there should be desktop shortcut created.
Image

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by xiaobing » Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:57 am

Still cannot reproduce it. Double click the desktop shortcut with Avant icon, it pops up this window:
1.png
1.png (26.78 KiB) Viewed 3587 times
Click OK, the game is opened .

User avatar
RakuPL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Poland

Re: Avant breaks Steam urls (games desktop shortcuts)

Post by RakuPL » Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:07 am

xiaobing wrote:Still cannot reproduce it. Double click the desktop shortcut with Avant icon, it pops up this window:
Click OK, the game is opened .
Try the Set Avant as default web browser button now. Maybe it will reproduce. I have set only http and https to be handled by default by Avant and Steam's games desktop shortcuts lost their normal icons and were replaced by a globe icon. However games have started correctly. I fear that the options below faded out url (htm, html etc) will cause it again :(

Thanks for your helping attempt xiaobing :wave:
Image

Post Reply