Turning off the ybrowser process

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
robdevereux
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:07 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 Build 122
IE Version: 8

Turning off the ybrowser process

Post by robdevereux » Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:14 am

In the move between the last but one and the version before it, avant seemed to start to actively use the Yahoo ybrowser service and process, even though I am not doing any Yahoo searching. It spawns upwards of ten processes at any one time and hogs the System resources terribly. Is there any way I can run Avant with this turned off?

Rob

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Turning off the ybrowser process

Post by kudos » Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:40 am

You are incorrect - ybrowser is not a Yahoo service, it is a new component of Avant Browser. Tabs are now created and contained within ybrowser processes which are managed by the main Avant application.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

robdevereux
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:07 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 Build 122
IE Version: 8

Re: Turning off the ybrowser process

Post by robdevereux » Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:12 am

Well whatever the case, the ybrowser processes are spawning out of control and eating system resources unreasonably. Sadly, this is badly detrimenting the use of the browser and Windows in general. Is there any plan to fix this in a slightly more useful way?

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Turning off the ybrowser process

Post by Jasmine » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:19 am

You can close some tabs to release memory space. How many pages do you normally open?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply