Page 1 of 1

Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:12 am
by mostlypissedoff
Hi, this seems to be the best place to post this question:
I notice my thread asking for updates about my thread about the zoom bug has been moved to the archives.
With no further replies and no "[resolved]" tag, on either thread.

So I'm not sure if it's been fixed yet, has it?

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:33 am
by kudos
Is the bug just on the site that you quoted in your other post?
Avant Browser should behave exactly the same as Internet Explorer.
Please provide screenshots showing the difference between Internet Explorer and Avant Browser.
Also check the rendering mode: Tools >> Rendering Mode >> IE8 Standards Mode

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:49 pm
by mostlypissedoff
The site quoted was just where I first noticed the problem. (Not the use of the word "example")
In the first thread, I demonstrated the conditions that triggered the bug, which at that time included ebay.
Avant Browser should behave exactly the same as Internet Explorer.
In the second thread, I said it doesn't occur when IE is used by itself.

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:52 am
by Jasmine
The example you made in this thread can be zoomed.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3c.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Could I bother you re-explain the problem? Where can't be zoomed? What's the Avant version you're using now?

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:40 pm
by mostlypissedoff
I'm not currently using Avant, I stopped using Avant when this problem occurred, and have been patiently waiting for it to be fixed since I reported the bug. I'm getting really sick of using Firefox, as Avant is far superior, so it would be great if this bug was finally fixed.

The only way I can re-explain the problem is copy/pasting what I have previous said about it.

The problem first occurred with 10.1 build 17 (available here: http://www.oldversion.com/download_Avan ... ld_17.html )
I still have it installed and the bug is indeed as I described it, you should be able to replicate it.

André confirmed that "position:relative" was somehow causing it, and I further demonstrated that changing the doctype effected the bug.

test1.html will not zoom:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3c.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Image

test2.html will zoom:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Image

I haven't included an image showing it, but removing "position:relative" also fixes the bug and allows zooming.

A newer doctype, <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN">, still will not zoom, and ebay is still using a doctype which will not zoom due to this bug, so this isn't just something happening with obscure sites.

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:01 am
by Jasmine
Hi, I save your code as test1.html and test2.html ,and both files can zoom with the same result.