Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mostlypissedoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 5:27 am
Avant Version:

Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by mostlypissedoff » Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:12 am

Hi, this seems to be the best place to post this question:
I notice my thread asking for updates about my thread about the zoom bug has been moved to the archives.
With no further replies and no "[resolved]" tag, on either thread.

So I'm not sure if it's been fixed yet, has it?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by kudos » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:33 am

Is the bug just on the site that you quoted in your other post?
Avant Browser should behave exactly the same as Internet Explorer.
Please provide screenshots showing the difference between Internet Explorer and Avant Browser.
Also check the rendering mode: Tools >> Rendering Mode >> IE8 Standards Mode
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mostlypissedoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 5:27 am
Avant Version:

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by mostlypissedoff » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:49 pm

The site quoted was just where I first noticed the problem. (Not the use of the word "example")
In the first thread, I demonstrated the conditions that triggered the bug, which at that time included ebay.
Avant Browser should behave exactly the same as Internet Explorer.
In the second thread, I said it doesn't occur when IE is used by itself.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by Jasmine » Fri Oct 22, 2010 7:52 am

The example you made in this thread can be zoomed.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3c.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Could I bother you re-explain the problem? Where can't be zoomed? What's the Avant version you're using now?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

mostlypissedoff
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 5:27 am
Avant Version:

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by mostlypissedoff » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:40 pm

I'm not currently using Avant, I stopped using Avant when this problem occurred, and have been patiently waiting for it to be fixed since I reported the bug. I'm getting really sick of using Firefox, as Avant is far superior, so it would be great if this bug was finally fixed.

The only way I can re-explain the problem is copy/pasting what I have previous said about it.

The problem first occurred with 10.1 build 17 (available here: http://www.oldversion.com/download_Avan ... ld_17.html )
I still have it installed and the bug is indeed as I described it, you should be able to replicate it.

André confirmed that "position:relative" was somehow causing it, and I further demonstrated that changing the doctype effected the bug.

test1.html will not zoom:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3c.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Image

test2.html will zoom:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><BODY>
<DIV style="position:relative">blah blah</DIV>
</BODY></HTML>
Image

I haven't included an image showing it, but removing "position:relative" also fixes the bug and allows zooming.

A newer doctype, <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN">, still will not zoom, and ebay is still using a doctype which will not zoom due to this bug, so this isn't just something happening with obscure sites.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Has the zoom bug been resolved?

Post by Jasmine » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:01 am

Hi, I save your code as test1.html and test2.html ,and both files can zoom with the same result.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply