2010 build 1 setting default browser problem win7

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mynamehere
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:42 pm
Avant Version:

2010 build 1 setting default browser problem win7

Post by mynamehere » Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:40 am

Does 2010 build 1 have to be run as admin?

I uninstalled the previous version before installing this version.

Avant is set to check if it's default & even though I click set as default when starting (& no other browser is set as default or to check if they are) Avant always comes up as not default & then setdefault.exe throws up UAC (do I want to allow program to make changes) and even though I click yes, the next time I start Avant it's the same all over again.

Just found that even if I tell Avant not to set as default it still is since it opens any time I click on a link in an email, or in a program such as its homepage, forum, etc. Is this a bug that needs to be fixed?

I'm running Win7 Ult x64

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: 2010 build 1 setting default browser problem win7

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:04 am

I'm getting the multiple "ask for default" check just as you describe. I had forgotten about it because I finally turned the option off.

As for your second issue with it acting as the default, have you tried clearing everything at Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Fiels and Protocols? You might have to go into Internet Options through the Control Panel or IE and reset your defaults there, too.

johnsmithbisley
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:51 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
Avant Version: Firefox now.
IE Version: IE9
Location: UK

Re: 2010 build 1 setting default browser problem win7

Post by johnsmithbisley » Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:50 am

Please ask for this to be fixed. I always want Avant Browser to be my browser, I always want it to check that it is, but I do not want to be asked every time.
John Smith

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: 2010 build 1 setting default browser problem win7

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:19 pm

This is fixed for me as reported for Build 2

Post Reply