One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by ElimGarak » Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:32 am

Hi!
I found that Avant opens 1 Avant.exe process for each tab I open, plus 2 Avantab.exe processes.
This is VERY memory consuming, is it normal?
After some seconds, almost all Avant.exe processes became Avantab. Only 4 of them remained Avant.exe (as you can see in image 2).

Thanks!
Attachments
Senza titolo-2.jpg
Then lots of Avantabs.
Senza titolo-1.jpg
Lots of Avant.exe

bassiliin
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:56 am
Windows Version: Win XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010(11.8) build 131
IE Version: IE 8

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by bassiliin » Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:09 pm

This whole system seems very ugly this way. I have 8 tabs open so it means 8 avant.exe and 8 avantab.exe. Why do we need those so many at all?

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by bigC » Sat Jun 12, 2010 7:50 pm

Thats odd, there should be 1 avant.exe total and 1 avanttab.exe per tab.

User avatar
richardisa1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46
IE Version: IE7
Location: Here

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by richardisa1 » Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:58 pm


LadyToon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:06 am
Avant Version:

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by LadyToon » Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:07 am

This is why I'm back to v11.7b46, dislike this multi stuff (don't like when a program needs to use more then one running process)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jun 13, 2010 1:11 am

I've been dealing with 5 avantabs and 1 avant, but all of a sudden, I looked down and there's 6 avantabs and 2 avants.

I've only had 5 tabs opened and have closed or opened no more. Could this have something to do with downloading? The only "non-browsing" thing I've done is download a zip file.

edit: As soon as I was done typing this, I only had 5 avantabs, so if no one else is getting them to jump that crazily, maybe I miscounted the 6.

bassiliin
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:56 am
Windows Version: Win XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010(11.8) build 131
IE Version: IE 8

Re: One Avant.exe process for each tab, plus 2 Avantab.exe

Post by bassiliin » Tue Jun 15, 2010 6:00 pm

Avant 2010 build 2 (usb)

I have 12 tabs open, in process manager there i have 7 avantab.exe and 5 avant.exe

Post Reply