Zone Alarm 5.0--bad news! [ZONE ALARM 5.1 GOOD NEWS!]

You know about some neat piece of software? Post here!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Zone Alarm 5.0--bad news! [ZONE ALARM 5.1 GOOD NEWS!]

Post by Sara » Tue May 25, 2004 11:07 pm

Warning, Warning Will Robinson!!

I got punished for saying nice things about Zone Alarm in the other thread. Right after I got a notice about ZA 5.0 being out so I downloaded it! Mistake! Froze up Avant 3x! I couldn't even end the program--task manager wouldn't come up and when I hit the red x I got the "Ending this program now....etc. box--I'd hit end program and nothing happened. Non web programs worked fine. I final de-installed the new ZA and reinstalled the earlier version. I spoke to my brother just now and he said ZA must have cut my "web link"--it's a bug in their program.

Consider yourselves warned!

Sara :?
Last edited by Sara on Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Zone Alarm 5.0--bad news!

Post by vtel57 » Wed May 26, 2004 3:59 am

Sara wrote:Warning, Warning Will Robinson!!

I got punished for saying nice things about Zone Alarm in the other thread. Right after I got a notice about ZA 5.0 being out so I downloaded it! Mistake! Froze up Avant 3x! I couldn't even end the program--task manager wouldn't come up and when I hit the red x I got the "Ending this program now....etc. box--I'd hit end program and nothing happened. Non web programs worked fine. I final de-installed the new ZA and reinstalled the earlier version. I spoke to my brother just now and he said ZA must have cut my "web link"--it's a bug in their program.

Consider yourselves warned!

Sara :?
So strange. I've been using ZA 5.0 for a couple weeks now. I haven't had a blip of a problem yet.

I dunno... Image
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Wed May 26, 2004 4:01 am

According to the ZA Forum there are conflicts with Antivirus program. Lots of angry people over there.

Sara :?

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Wed May 26, 2004 4:06 am

Sara wrote:According to the ZA Forum there are conflicts with Antivirus program. Lots of angry people over there.

Sara :?
Hmm... I'm running Norton. No conflicts or problems there either. Maybe I'm just lucky? ;)
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Wed May 26, 2004 4:11 am

What gives with ZA? I use to use it, prior to Sygate, liked it but tried Sygate after reading about it in Toronto Computes which stated it caused less problems with other programs.
ZA is going to blow it if it keeps up.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Wed May 26, 2004 4:28 am

Oh wait... DUH! I'm using ZA Pro v4.5. That may be the difference. So, nevermind. ;)
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Wed May 26, 2004 4:51 am

4.5 works just fine--just don't update until they get 5 fixed.

Sara :)

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Wed May 26, 2004 5:44 am

Sara wrote:4.5 works just fine--just don't update until they get 5 fixed.

Sara :)
Hmm... it seems that when I d-loaded it a couple weeks ago, they had removed v5.0 due to known bugs and replaced it with 4.5. They're recommending everyone go back to 4.5 until they get 5.0 squared away. I guess I did get lucky! :)
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

Logiman
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 12:11 am
Avant Version:

Post by Logiman » Wed May 26, 2004 8:04 am

Yes the latest ZoneAlarm versions have been giving a lot of people problems. I know someone who builds computers and he says that when he installs ZoneAlarm that the computer doesn't even boot up. He thinks ZoneAlarm is messing up the motherboard, but I think it is that ZoneAlarm installs itself in the registry that maybe causing boot up problems. He builds computers and sells them to people. He puts easy to use freeware when he ships them. The version before 5.0 had a lot of bad reviews from people complaining about the same exact thing on download.com. I would stay clear of ZoneAlarm for now.

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Wed May 26, 2004 1:31 pm

Angeldust wrote:What gives with ZA? I use to use it, prior to Sygate, liked it but tried Sygate after reading about it in Toronto Computes which stated it caused less problems with other programs.
ZA is going to blow it if it keeps up.
Really? I use Sygate and have had no issues at all with it.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Wed May 26, 2004 4:01 pm

TomServo wrote:
Angeldust wrote:What gives with ZA? I use to use it, prior to Sygate, liked it but tried Sygate after reading about it in Toronto Computes which stated it caused less problems with other programs.
ZA is going to blow it if it keeps up.
Really? I use Sygate and have had no issues at all with it.
Tom, I think that is what Angeldust is saying. He switched to Sygate because he read that Sygate causes less problems.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Wed May 26, 2004 4:50 pm

SweetLou wrote:
TomServo wrote:
Angeldust wrote:What gives with ZA? I use to use it, prior to Sygate, liked it but tried Sygate after reading about it in Toronto Computes which stated it caused less problems with other programs.
ZA is going to blow it if it keeps up.
Really? I use Sygate and have had no issues at all with it.
Tom, I think that is what Angeldust is saying. He switched to Sygate because he read that Sygate causes less problems.
Yea, your right.. :oops: I blame feeling miserable for any errors :lol:
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Wed May 26, 2004 9:19 pm

I take this oppurtunity to thank all my translators here at Avant for understanding Canadian, eh.
Tom (Chad) I agree that since I went to Sygate no problems. Their Pro is pretty good too tried it using DC2000.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

HarryP
Fan
Fan
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:29 pm
Windows Version: WIN 7 SP1 home premium
Avant Version: 2011 beta 18
IE Version: IE9
Location: south germany
Contact:

Post by HarryP » Thu May 27, 2004 5:46 am

Sara wrote:4.5 works just fine--just don't update until they get 5 fixed.

Sara :)
Thank you Sara, good advice!!

I've read the same in many boards in germany, too!

Some users here have tested ZAPro - Need I a new licence, or can I use my
old ZAP 4.5 registration??
On the ZoneLab-Page I couldn't find anything about this point!



HarryP
Image

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jul 19, 2004 6:12 am

Hey look at this, ZoneAlarm got upgraded. It's probably still not better, though.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Mon Jul 19, 2004 6:27 am

Read all the reviews--they get better the older they get and remember this is the beta site.

Sara :?

User avatar
TOMaxwell
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:46 pm
Avant Version:

Post by TOMaxwell » Mon Jul 19, 2004 10:20 am

Sara wrote:Read all the reviews--they get better the older they get and remember this is the beta site.

Sara :?
Why on Earth would anybody in their right mind try a ßeta Firewall? I am expectingf that only home users try it, on their one, data-critical machine. That's NutZ Image
Some days, it's just not worth biting through the leather straps :-#

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:34 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:Why on Earth would anybody in their right mind try a ßeta Firewall? I am expectingf that only home users try it, on their one, data-critical machine. That's NutZ Image
:lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jul 19, 2004 4:05 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:
Sara wrote:Read all the reviews--they get better the older they get and remember this is the beta site.

Sara :?
Why on Earth would anybody in their right mind try a ßeta Firewall? I am expectingf that only home users try it, on their one, data-critical machine. That's NutZ Image
Because it is better than the 5.0x releases.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Mon Jul 19, 2004 8:33 pm

Not much from the latest reviews! Stick to 4.5!
Sara :?

Post Reply