Ad-aware 6.0 available

You know about some neat piece of software? Post here!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Jay
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:

Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Jay » Wed Feb 05, 2003 8:12 am

Ad-aware version 6.0 is now available for download from :

http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.ph ... 62fa468da0

This new version has the refupdate included in the progam. I have been using Spybot Search and Destroy, but I like Ad-aware better.

Jay
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Jay » Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:35 am

And then again, I have just noticed that Ad-aware wants to treat Spy bot as a spy ware or ad ware --at least the definitions in it. Somehow, that doesn't seen entirely kosher. Maybe I will stick with Spy bot for awhile yet.  ;D

User avatar
Bobmeister
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 4:20 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Chicago area

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Bobmeister » Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:24 am

I have been Happy with Ad-Aware.  The new build is 162.  I don't use the UC-More so haven't had that problem.  It is amazing how much stuff can creep in though, isn't it?

Jay
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Jay » Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:21 am

It really is, but I have have much more success in finding it and removing it with Spybot -Search and destroy. It is also faster than Ad-Aware. Of course, each to his own  :P.
A link to Spybot is :  http://beam.to/spybotsd

User avatar
Bobmeister
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 4:20 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Chicago area

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Bobmeister » Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:09 am

Yes, Jay, I haven't tried Spybot, but I have heard good things about it.  I might get it and try that to see.  Some reviewers have said that it catches more than AdAware.  I'm still experimenting with a lot of this stuff...there seems to be so many advantages and disadvantages to different software.  But it's fun tweaking until you get just the right combination you like.

User avatar
Pastork
Fan
Fan
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 6:06 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Pastork » Tue Mar 18, 2003 11:36 pm

 The latest version of Spybot:S&D, 1.2,  has a compatibility warning that displays at startup if it has detected that you have Ad-aware installed. It says "You have AdAware installed. If you have the AdAware option to scan inside archives enabled, AdAware may find files in the Spybot:S&D folder. Spybot does not contain any spyware, but it creates backups of everything you fix (until you remove those backups from the recovery list), and AdAware complains about these backups. You can safely ignore these backups found by AdAware."  Actually, the default settings of Ad-aware 6.0 do not have it set to "scan inside archives" anyway, so the inexperienced user is not likely to run into problems anyway.

Pastork
"There is a god-shaped vacuum in the heart of every man that only God can fill." Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)
http://reformedbaptist.blogspot.com/
http://www.immanuelhomepage.org/

User avatar
Csonicgo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 8:43 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: somewhere

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Csonicgo » Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:06 pm

ADaware 6.0- Io just downloaded it- It deleted Winsock  and some other Needed things ( Since when was Winsock Adware?) And Now I can't get Avant or IE to work on my other computer! SOme of my programs stopped working! What do I do now??

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Sara » Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:19 pm

Hi HW,

I'm sure one of the experts will have an answer for you easier than this so give them a little time, but here's a thought--can you copy winsock from one computer to the other and reinstall IE? Now mind you, I'm not even sure what Winsock is or does, so don't think I'm an expert--I've gotten myself into some pretty messes over the years!! ;D

What I did discover fairly recently is a program called Go-Back.  It came with Norton Systemworks 2003.  It allows you to "revert" your drive to an earlier date--it loads before windows.  You even get your deleted E-mails back!  It has saved my a** a couple of times already--well worth the investment!! Shop around for prices--I got mine in E-Bay.

Hope this helps--
Sara :)
Image

Jay
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Jay » Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:13 am

Homeschool Winner - Winsock is a dll file on Win98. It is 21 kb in size. Maybe you can copy it to a floppy from your good computer and copy it to your Systems folder on your damaged computer. It should work. Or you could run System File Checker and replace the file from there.  About the other programs (needed things) since I don't know what they are I can't give you much advice. I would suggest as a last resort trying a repair or re-install of IE.  I would also suggest that you use Spybot rather than Adaware. It is much more effective and doesn't cause this kind of damage.  

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Sara » Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:36 am

I recently switched from Adaware to Spybot--it seems to do a better job.

Sara :)
Image

User avatar
Pastork
Fan
Fan
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 6:06 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Pastork » Sun Mar 30, 2003 6:04 am

Homeschool Winner,

If you go to the Lavasoft Forum, i am sure you will find an answer there. If my memory serves me correctly, they have written a little 'Winsock Repair Tool' program available for free download. You might want to check and see.  http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.ph ... 7d6b98c461

 As for me, I have found that running SpywareBlaster(http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareblaster.html  ) and SpywareGuard(http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html ) together virtually eliminates the need for Sbybot or Ad-Aware. But for those things they might miss, I think Spybot:Search and Destroy ( http://spybot.safer-networking.de/  ) is sufficient to deal with these. In addition, Spybot's latest version (1.2) is designed to compliment SpywareBlaster. In short, I would probably just get rid of Ad-Aware and stick the other three programs.
"There is a god-shaped vacuum in the heart of every man that only God can fill." Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)
http://reformedbaptist.blogspot.com/
http://www.immanuelhomepage.org/

Jay
Fan
Fan
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Jay » Sun Mar 30, 2003 8:15 am

Good call Pastork. AdAware does have 2 files posted on their site to repair the damage caused by removing the c-lop file. And btw, Homeschooler has already been there.  ::)

User avatar
Csonicgo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 8:43 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: somewhere

Re: Ad-aware 6.0 available

Post by Csonicgo » Sun Mar 30, 2003 8:34 am

everng works fine now, thanks :)

Post Reply