zone alarm for vista

You know about some neat piece of software? Post here!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

zone alarm for vista

Post by ronnycopeh » Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:08 pm

Hoo-ray zone alarm just release a vista compatible firewall, check it out all vista users http://www.zonealarm.com/store/content/home.jsp

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Post by Psykocyber » Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:00 pm

About time...
But it's to late, switched back to XP because there is no EAX in Vista.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

User avatar
Pastork
Fan
Fan
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 6:06 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: zone alarm for vista

Post by Pastork » Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:54 pm

I tried ZoneAlarm after they released there Vista compatible update, and I was very disappointed. It slowed my system down and brought my web surfing to a crawl.

Needless to say, I got rid of it right away.
"There is a god-shaped vacuum in the heart of every man that only God can fill." Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)
http://reformedbaptist.blogspot.com/
http://www.immanuelhomepage.org/

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: zone alarm for vista

Post by ronnycopeh » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:05 pm

Well I have used it since they first released it and it has'nt affected my system at all.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: zone alarm for vista

Post by vtel57 » Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:18 pm

Pastork wrote:I tried ZoneAlarm after they released there Vista compatible update, and I was very disappointed. It slowed my system down and brought my web surfing to a crawl.

Needless to say, I got rid of it right away.
That's unusual. I can't speak for Vista, of course, but with XP I didn't have any problems with ZA. It wasn't my favorite firewall, but it was usable and functioned pretty well on my system. My favorite firewall was Sygate, but when it got bought out by Symantec, I dumped it. I don't do anything Symantec.

Nowadays, I manipulate my IP Tables in Linux using the Firestarter graphical front end and I sit behind a hardware firewall. That's about all you need with Linux. :)

Have fun!
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

rowtc2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:23 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.0
IE Version: 7

Re: zone alarm for vista

Post by rowtc2 » Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:16 pm

Now i am using ZoneAlarm (firewall) and Avira(antivirus) on Windows XP. They are working pretty well in same time. You must have more resources for Vista , probably that is running slower now .

Post Reply