Getting Avant to not use MS Java, and use Sun Java instead.

Important announcements and news regarding the Avant forums are posted here. Be sure to read the Rules before posting anywhere on the forums. Frequently Asked Avant Questions are also available here.

Getting Avant to not use MS Java, and use Sun Java instead.

Postby me75006 » Fri Oct 15, 2004 1:01 am

Unistall Microsoft Java VM Views: 21,660 | Avg. Rating: 3 out of 5 (66 Votes) | 8/12/2002 12:00:00 AM | Print


I had a MS Java version & a newer Sun version of Java on XP home system.
IE would use the Sun, Avant would use the old MS Java.
Soultion: (courtesy TweakXP.com)

"If you wish to use Sun Java and would like to remove microsoft's Java VM, here's how.

Click start --> run --> and type this in:

RunDll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection java.inf,UnInstall

You will then get a prompt to uninstall, choose yes, and choose to reboot.

Then go and delete the java folder in \windows. After that go to \windows\inf\ and delete java.inf and java.pnf Next step is to search for javavm.dll and delete it. "

I then had to uninstall the Sun Java, rebooted, and then reinstalled the SunJava.
At this point both Avant & IE Browsers were reported as :
"Using 1.4.2_05 by Sun Microsystems Inc." :D

Note: Java version test used at broadbandreports.com, tools/ speed test/ step 1.
Hope this can help anyone else seeking to clean up their system.

Important Note: If you're still having difficulty getting AB to use Sun Java after removing MS JVM, it may be necessary to remove an entry from the registry. See here for details
me75006
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 12:47 am
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #1 by TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:22 am

Ahhh! Very good. We have been looking for a way to do that for some time.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/
TomServo
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: The Motor City
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #2 by crom » Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:44 am

some sites still require MS Java, so I wouldn't uninstall it
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..
crom
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Avantic
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Location: Milan, Italy
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #3 by TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:16 pm

Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/
TomServo
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: The Motor City
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #4 by Pip » Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:46 pm

TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around
Pip
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Guru
 
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Location: Michigan U.S.A.
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Top

Post Reply #5 by Wilson » Fri Oct 15, 2004 5:07 pm

I find that Sun Java runs really slowly (and initializes slowly as well).
- Wilson
Wilson
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:32 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #6 by TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:41 pm

Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/
TomServo
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: The Motor City
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #7 by Circumlocutus » Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:13 pm

TomServo wrote:
Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.


If 1 Moderator prefers Mozilla, then is the opinion for Avant 10.0.027 at download.com purporting to be from MysteryFCM slamming Avant and promoting Mozilla (and giving Avant a Thumbs Down) actually from him? :)


Note. I am hoping that it is not him, as I have already posted an opinion there saying so.
Last edited by Circumlocutus on Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Circumlocutus
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Avantic
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Top

Post Reply #8 by hornakapopolis » Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:20 pm

Yeah, we've run into that before. :roll: I never believe download.com's reviews.
hornakapopolis
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 10929
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2013
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Top

Post Reply #9 by TomServo » Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:57 pm

unknownsoldier wrote:
TomServo wrote:
Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.


If 1 Moderator prefers Mozilla, then is the opinion for Avant 10.0.027 at download.com purporting to be from MysteryFCM slamming Avant and promoting Mozilla (and giving Avant a Thumbs Down) actually from him? :)


Note. I am hoping that it is not him, as I have already posted an opinion there saying so.


Let me put it this way, untill MS shapes up and admits they have security issues.. I won't use IE core for financial transactions.

I still use AB 95% of the time otherwise.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/
TomServo
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic Elite
 
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: The Motor City
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #10 by TOMaxwell » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:27 am

Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
Some days, it's just not worth biting through the leather straps :-#
TOMaxwell
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:46 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #11 by André » Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:42 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6
André
User avatar
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Top

I'll not uninstall MSJVM

Post Reply #12 by abfan123 » Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:45 pm

I'll not uninstall MSJVM because
1.I don't like Sun Java
2.Many Java applets working just with Microsoft JVM
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.
abfan123
Offline
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Post Reply #13 by TOMaxwell » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:47 pm

_DrDrrae_ wrote:
TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.


I had the same question about SP2. I learned that SP2 installs ALL prior Updates including SP1 and SP1a.

It saves me about an hour every time I do a format/reinstall, and MSJVM is not present after reinstalling the OS.
Some days, it's just not worth biting through the leather straps :-#
TOMaxwell
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:46 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #14 by abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:28 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:
_DrDrrae_ wrote:
TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.


I had the same question about SP2. I learned that SP2 installs ALL prior Updates including SP1 and SP1a.

It saves me about an hour every time I do a format/reinstall, and MSJVM is not present after reinstalling the OS.

Hmm
I have SP2 and installed SP1a
MS JVM still here...
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.
abfan123
Offline
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Post Reply #15 by Pip » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:02 pm

You installed SP1a after SP2??? :?
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around
Pip
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Guru
 
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Location: Michigan U.S.A.
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Top

Post Reply #16 by abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:22 pm

Pip wrote:You installed SP1a after SP2??? :?

Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released...
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.
abfan123
Offline
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Post Reply #17 by Pip » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:50 pm

Read my question ABFan............I asked:

You installed SP1a AFTER SP2? to which you replied:

"Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released..."

Now read you reply again.........does it still make sense to you?
Cause it doesn't to me! :?
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around
Pip
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Semi-Guru
 
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Location: Michigan U.S.A.
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Top

Post Reply #18 by abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:21 pm

Pip wrote:Read my question ABFan............I asked:

You installed SP1a AFTER SP2? to which you replied:

"Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released..."

Now read you reply again.........does it still make sense to you?
Cause it doesn't to me! :?

oops :oops:
sorry lol
I FIRST installed SP1a and then SP2
That what I wanted to say in my previous comment :oops:
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.
abfan123
Offline
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Top

Removing MS Java/Using Sun Java

Post Reply #19 by JohnnyBravo » Tue Feb 15, 2005 7:44 am

After using for some time the Sun Java, I sincerely think it is not worth doing. Why ? The start-up time becomes a century and the delay becomes a century.

Now, does anybody know whether it is possible to reverse the process? The solution with re-install everything is kown :)
JohnnyBravo
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:37 am
Location: Europe
Avant Version:
Top

Next

Return to Announcements & News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1