Getting Avant to not use MS Java, and use Sun Java instead.

Important announcements and news regarding the Avant forums are posted here. Be sure to read the Rules before posting anywhere on the forums. Frequently Asked Avant Questions are also available here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, Developer, AvantGuard

me75006
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 12:47 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Getting Avant to not use MS Java, and use Sun Java instead.

Postby me75006 » Fri Oct 15, 2004 1:01 am

Unistall Microsoft Java VM Views: 21,660 | Avg. Rating: 3 out of 5 (66 Votes) | 8/12/2002 12:00:00 AM | Print


I had a MS Java version & a newer Sun version of Java on XP home system.
IE would use the Sun, Avant would use the old MS Java.
Soultion: (courtesy TweakXP.com)

"If you wish to use Sun Java and would like to remove microsoft's Java VM, here's how.

Click start --> run --> and type this in:

RunDll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection java.inf,UnInstall

You will then get a prompt to uninstall, choose yes, and choose to reboot.

Then go and delete the java folder in \windows. After that go to \windows\inf\ and delete java.inf and java.pnf Next step is to search for javavm.dll and delete it. "

I then had to uninstall the Sun Java, rebooted, and then reinstalled the SunJava.
At this point both Avant & IE Browsers were reported as :
"Using 1.4.2_05 by Sun Microsystems Inc." :D

Note: Java version test used at broadbandreports.com, tools/ speed test/ step 1.
Hope this can help anyone else seeking to clean up their system.

Important Note: If you're still having difficulty getting AB to use Sun Java after removing MS JVM, it may be necessary to remove an entry from the registry. See here for details

User avatar
TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Postby TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:22 am

Ahhh! Very good. We have been looking for a way to do that for some time.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Postby crom » Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:44 am

some sites still require MS Java, so I wouldn't uninstall it
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Postby TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:16 pm

Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.

- Schlock Mercenary



Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Postby Pip » Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:46 pm

TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
Wilson
Fan
Fan
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Contact:

Postby Wilson » Fri Oct 15, 2004 5:07 pm

I find that Sun Java runs really slowly (and initializes slowly as well).
- Wilson

User avatar
TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Postby TomServo » Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:41 pm

Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.

- Schlock Mercenary



Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
Circumlocutus
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK

Postby Circumlocutus » Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:13 pm

TomServo wrote:
Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.


If 1 Moderator prefers Mozilla, then is the opinion for Avant 10.0.027 at download.com purporting to be from MysteryFCM slamming Avant and promoting Mozilla (and giving Avant a Thumbs Down) actually from him? :)


Note. I am hoping that it is not him, as I have already posted an opinion there saying so.
Last edited by Circumlocutus on Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11186
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Postby hornakapopolis » Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:20 pm

Yeah, we've run into that before. :roll: I never believe download.com's reviews.

User avatar
TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Postby TomServo » Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:57 pm

unknownsoldier wrote:
TomServo wrote:
Pip wrote:
TomServo wrote:Then they don't deserve going too... I haven't had any issues like that in Firefox.


YOU are using Firefox??? Not on a regular basis, I assume, just for research probably..


I use it more than IE actually. Especially for online banking. Sorry, MS never had my trust and isn't doing that great of a job keeping it.


If 1 Moderator prefers Mozilla, then is the opinion for Avant 10.0.027 at download.com purporting to be from MysteryFCM slamming Avant and promoting Mozilla (and giving Avant a Thumbs Down) actually from him? :)


Note. I am hoping that it is not him, as I have already posted an opinion there saying so.


Let me put it this way, untill MS shapes up and admits they have security issues.. I won't use IE core for financial transactions.

I still use AB 95% of the time otherwise.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.

- Schlock Mercenary



Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
TOMaxwell
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:46 pm
Avant Version:

Postby TOMaxwell » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:27 am

Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
Some days, it's just not worth biting through the leather straps :-#

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Postby André » Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:42 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

I'll not uninstall MSJVM

Postby abfan123 » Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:45 pm

I'll not uninstall MSJVM because
1.I don't like Sun Java
2.Many Java applets working just with Microsoft JVM
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
TOMaxwell
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:46 pm
Avant Version:

Postby TOMaxwell » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:47 pm

_DrDrrae_ wrote:
TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.


I had the same question about SP2. I learned that SP2 installs ALL prior Updates including SP1 and SP1a.

It saves me about an hour every time I do a format/reinstall, and MSJVM is not present after reinstalling the OS.
Some days, it's just not worth biting through the leather straps :-#

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Postby abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:28 pm

TOMaxwell wrote:
_DrDrrae_ wrote:
TOMaxwell wrote:Uhmmm ... I'm pretty sure that Microsoft removed MS Java with
SP1. In fact, they were ordered to remove it by a Court of Law.
It was removed in SP1a. This means if you downloaded and installed SP1, it was still in there. I also think that SP2 does not remove it, but I'm not sure.


I had the same question about SP2. I learned that SP2 installs ALL prior Updates including SP1 and SP1a.

It saves me about an hour every time I do a format/reinstall, and MSJVM is not present after reinstalling the OS.

Hmm
I have SP2 and installed SP1a
MS JVM still here...
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Postby Pip » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:02 pm

You installed SP1a after SP2??? :?
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Postby abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:22 pm

Pip wrote:You installed SP1a after SP2??? :?

Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released...
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Postby Pip » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:50 pm

Read my question ABFan............I asked:

You installed SP1a AFTER SP2? to which you replied:

"Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released..."

Now read you reply again.........does it still make sense to you?
Cause it doesn't to me! :?
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Postby abfan123 » Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:21 pm

Pip wrote:Read my question ABFan............I asked:

You installed SP1a AFTER SP2? to which you replied:

"Yes
Because I installed SP1a before SP2 even released..."

Now read you reply again.........does it still make sense to you?
Cause it doesn't to me! :?

oops :oops:
sorry lol
I FIRST installed SP1a and then SP2
That what I wanted to say in my previous comment :oops:
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

JohnnyBravo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:37 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Europe

Removing MS Java/Using Sun Java

Postby JohnnyBravo » Tue Feb 15, 2005 7:44 am

After using for some time the Sun Java, I sincerely think it is not worth doing. Why ? The start-up time becomes a century and the delay becomes a century.

Now, does anybody know whether it is possible to reverse the process? The solution with re-install everything is kown :)


Return to “Announcements & News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users