About can't connect to AB server

Important announcements and news regarding the Avant forums are posted here. Be sure to read the Rules before posting anywhere on the forums. Frequently Asked Avant Questions are also available here.

About can't connect to AB server

Postby Jasmine » Thu Mar 15, 2007 2:49 am

News from Anderson:
Huge Chaos at Registerfly makes avant the victim.

Follow this link to a typical Regfly story,
http://www.kingnomar.com/162/huge-chaos-at-registerfly/

And because of registryfly's technical problem,Anderson cannot move data to another dns server yet.

He feels sorry for any inconvenience brought to you all.

MysteryFCM: Edited to change to an announcement
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #1 by Sara » Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:54 am

I knew I was right about storing stuff on-line!

Folks, if you go to viewtopic.php?t=15520 you'll find how to switch to using IE Favorites, which will bring back all of the ones you had before you went on-line since they are stored in IE. They'll still be called Bookmarks, but at least you'll have them.

As for Form Filling and Passwords, consider paying for RoboForm--at least you'll know where your data is!

Sara :?
Sara
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 6235
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Location: Butler, PA
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Top

Post Reply #2 by hornakapopolis » Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:41 am

Or, use Avant's USB version. It uses Avant's bookmarks (which I like) and can be run off of your hard drive, too.
hornakapopolis
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 10987
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2014
Default engine: Firefox / Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Top

Post Reply #3 by tropicalwym » Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:05 am

i am using avant brower as my browser and an using clearwire which gets good receception from the air, but i am having problems going on line. what all this tea in china about Registryfly and losing domains! why is that affecting me from getting on line. i want my avant brower as my home page not AHole Mircosoft or Explorer. i was very happen surfing with avant, now whay
tropicalwym
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:03 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #4 by robc » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:17 am

The point is that all the online stuff that AB uses is stored on a server whose domain was registered with RegisterFly; this company has been closed due to financial and management problems, as far as I know, so all domains that have been registered with them are not working: this means that any of those sites cannot be reached by anybody, just like it didn't exist in the first place. What is needed is to re-register those domains with a new registrar, wait for the time necessary for those changes to be propagated to the whole Net, then everything will be back again - hopefully.

Events like this are useful to understand the real limits of "online anything": if a "shortage" doesn't bother you, then you can happily use it; if, on the contrary, the unavailability of what you've stored online (bookmarks or anything, remember there are services out there for online backup also, etc.) is a problem, then definitely do not use online storage.
Image formerly known as Image
robc
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantic
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Top

Post Reply #5 by thelyonsking » Fri Mar 16, 2007 3:45 pm

I'm not having any problems with online storage and I have it all there. I move between 3 different computers....????
In His Grace,

Greg Lyons

Philippians 4:13- For I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me...
thelyonsking
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio
Avant Version:
Top

No longer can log into AB, Need Favs

Post Reply #6 by distorted.clarity » Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:06 pm

No longer can log into AB, Need Favs

Not to sure what happend, the only thing i had done was installed spy sweeper and poof no more log in.. i have uninstalled it but i still cant get into my log-in.
any ideas how to get back in or get my favs they are stored on the server.

Merged - Terranaut
distorted.clarity
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:03 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #7 by ElimGarak » Thu May 17, 2007 5:03 pm

Well... I would have liked to be informed about this problem as soon as it happened. I had to format and reinstall Windows just today. I was absolutely confident to find all my stuff on the server, so I didn't make any backup of Avant and now... everything's gone. 8(
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Post Reply #8 by André » Thu May 17, 2007 5:38 pm

This was a while ago (2 months). Everything has been solved since then.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6
André
User avatar
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #9 by PatG » Fri May 18, 2007 1:14 am

Sara wrote:I knew I was right about storing stuff on-line!


As for Form Filling and Passwords, consider paying for RoboForm--at least you'll know where your data is!

Sara :?


Right ON! Been using Roboform for at least 5 years, free upgrades ALWAYS, and have not lost any records and I have over 130 today. :)
AB 11.0 build 46 (to stay for a while) on XP Pro SP2
PatG
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat May 24, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Deep South Alabama
Avant Version:
Top

Post Reply #10 by ElimGarak » Fri May 18, 2007 1:28 am

DrDrrae wrote:This was a while ago (2 months). Everything has been solved since then.


Actually, I'm having this problem today. 8-(
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Post Reply #11 by ElimGarak » Fri May 18, 2007 9:10 am

Now everything works. ;-)
ElimGarak
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Location: Italy
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #12 by ABman » Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:26 am

yyao12345 wrote:Very glad to see you here the message, let me understand a lot
Not bad, 4 years after the previous post! :lol:

EDIT: I see now, you're flooding the forum with your pointless posts. :roll:
ABman
Offline
Avantic
Avantic
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #13 by RonyBrenes » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:04 pm

Hello! There is the possibility of recovering bookmarks and autofill? This issue affects me because it had EVERYTHING on their servers.
RonyBrenes
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:51 pm
Windows Version: 7
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: 9
Top

Re: About can't connect to AB server

Post Reply #14 by pvslooten » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:23 pm

RonyBrenes wrote:Hello! There is the possibility of recovering bookmarks and autofill? This issue affects me because it had EVERYTHING on their servers.


Since today I can't connect to the online storage too...
Others face same problem too.

See seperate tread about this topic
pvslooten
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:08 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: Ultimate 2012 build
IE Version: 9.0
Top


Return to Announcements & News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1